The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Allowing cPanel enabling of spamassassin at the email account level

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Salem_Kayaker, Feb 23, 2005.

  1. Salem_Kayaker

    Salem_Kayaker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a shared hosting account which allows me multiple domains and subdomains.

    The hosting service has set up my account with cPanel (nice tool BTW :).

    As far as I can see, cPanel only allows me to enable/disable spamassassin globally (i.e. for all domains and subdomains at once). I would prefer to enable/disable spamassassin at the level of individual email accounts (or at the very least, domains). Some of my email user have their own client-based spam filtering and do not want to use spamassassin while others would like to use spamassassin.

    When I contacted my hosting service's support folks, they said that control at the email account level was not possible with cPanel. Is that correct?

    I did a search on this forum and saw some mention of enabling/disabling spamassassin at a more granular level but it required access to the global spamassassin config file which, at least as my hosting service has set things up, is not accessible to me.

    --Salem_Kayaker
     
  2. Est

    Est Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Enabling spam assasin,

    Hi,

    I know enabling spam assasin on singular accounts is impossibe, however enabling it on the domain level in cPanel 9.9.9 [and probably other versions] is the standard...

    What type of cPanel access do you have, are you a reseller on the server?

    You should enquire with your hosting company regards this as it is possible to enable it on specific domains only, and configure different security levels on each domain as well.

    Reagards,
     
  3. Salem_Kayaker

    Salem_Kayaker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Probably not a reseller...

    I am using some version of cPanel 9 (But I am not sure which sub-version... Where can I get the full 9.x.x version number in the GUI?).

    I have a number of full domains that I manage within my instance of cPanel but I suspect that I am not a reseller as you would define the term.

    --Salem_Kayaker
     
  4. Est

    Est Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Version & Reseller Options,

    Hi,

    You can usually check the cPanel version number somewhere in the GUI, but it differs from one skin to another, there is usally a text space with ther cPanel build in it.

    How do you manage different domains with your cPanel, do you have different login names for each one or is there a drop down list to switch between?

    I'm not sure how you hosting provider has configured your cPanel privilages, and which cPanel skin you are using.

    If you can provide me with more information I may be able to provide you with more adequate help,

    Kindest Regards,
     
  5. Salem_Kayaker

    Salem_Kayaker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel build number and "Add-on" domains

    I poked around a bit and the cPanel build appears to be 10.0.0-RELEASE 7 (although it still says "CPANEL 9" immediately under the header bar).

    And I don't see anything about a skin but the Theme is shown as cPanel X v2.5.0

    The hosting service allows one to have up to N "add-on" domains (where N is determined by what hosting plan you have). The add-on domains are, in fact, subdomains of my main domain on the server but they appear as independant domains to the rest of the world.

    For example, our main domain is salemdesign.com. And one of our add-on domains is marvoshart.com. Internally, the html files for marvoshart are simply in a subdirectory of my salemdesign account and the webstats for that account show up as marvosh.salemdesign.com.

    But you can browse to www.marvoshart.com or do a whois domain search and it appears to be (heck it is) a free-standing domain.

    The marvoshart.com has its own ftp account but I usually just sFTP to the salemdesign.com account and maintain marvoshart.com and our other add-on domains through the top level account.

    One sets up an add-on account via cPanel. Basically it just asks you for the URL (e.g. marvoshart.com) and which subdirectory should be the home directory for that domain.

    The hosting service also offers what they call Reseller Accounts where one can have multiple subaccounts, each with its own cPanel. But that costs a bit more per month.

    I don't know if that is helpful in terms of solving my spamassassin issue? :)

    TIA

    Salem_Kayaker
     
  6. Est

    Est Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Spam assasin.

    Sorry for the delay in the reply I have been away,

    That's very elequently put... thanks.

    You are using cPanel 10.xx but the skin is simply a cPanel 9.xx skin.

    Yes, with addon domains the spam assasin setting affect all of them as cPanel see's them all as 1 domain account.

    The reseller account is really your only way to go in this case, it is quite a nice setup though... then you'll be able to give your clients cPanel login details for thier own domain. Then they can set up thier own email stuff [you can limit them to have access just to email if you want]

    I hope this soves your issues,

    Regards,

    Carl
     
Loading...

Share This Page