Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Already has a website on the IP address error message

Discussion in 'Security' started by Rob CZ, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I submitted a CSR, got the certificate, uploaded it to the server, ect. However when I attempt to install it, this message shows up:

    already has a website on the IP address “*”, but you requested to add an SSL website for that domain onto the IP address “[IP HERE]”. A single domain may not have websites on more than one IP address.

    I am in CPanel -> SSL/TLS -> Manage SSL Sites. I click "Browse Certificates", and select my certificate, and all fields auto-populate. Clicking "Install Certificate" at the bottom creates this error message.

    I have tried a new browser (to clear browser cache). I tried re-keying the CSR and re-creating the SSL and re-uploading it. I removed and uninstalled the old SSL. I am out of ideas and this is a live e-commerce site, so every second counts.


    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am guessing that you are trying to install a wildcard, EV or OV certificate intended for a dedicated IP onto a domain that shares its IP with other domains on your server.

    If this is the case, you will need to allocate a unique IP for the site, and purchase a certificate for that IP

    OR

    Use the SNI certificate that cPanel offers free and that will work on a domain that shares its IP

    More info from:
    Manage AutoSSL - Version 74 Documentation - cPanel Documentation
    Install an SSL Certificate on a Domain - Version 74 Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for getting back to me. We are trying to install on a dedicated server with only one domain on the server.
     
  4. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is certainly interesting.

    Is this a new server ? I ask because perhaps there are stray cached DNS entries floating round in Caching name-servers that may well take some time to clear.

    Is the IP you have the site on marked as the shared IP for the server or is it a dedicated IP ?
    Have a look in Home » IP Functions » Show IP Address Usage to ensure no other site is sharing the IP (and see if you might have a dedicated IP you can move the site onto.)

    If nothing works, I am sure Michael can wade in with some trick for you. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Rob CZ likes this.
  5. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Interesting to say the least.

    1) This is not a new server, no. We have had an SSL installed for 2 years before this.

    2) "Is the IP you have the site on marked as the shared IP for the server or is it a dedicated IP ?" - the IP is marked as the shared IP for the server, we do not have a dedicated IP.

    3) Actually don't have access to "IP Functions". Maybe this is because we are not root. (I believe our set cPanel access level to root during account creation for this site was done in error)

    Thanks for the help so far!
     
  6. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the tip. I just checked using the tool you suggested and it confirmed there's only one domain at our IP.
     
  8. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any other suggestions on what might be going on and how we could fix it?
     
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,240
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Rob CZ

    I'll bet the issue is that the account is assigned * as the IP address. To verify this can you run the following and let me know the output?

    Code:
    grep ip: /var/cpanel/userdata/$USER/domain.tld
    
    If it comes back as:
    Code:
    ip: *
    You can resolve this by going to WHM>>Account Functions>>Change Site's IP address and change the IP to the server's shared IP address.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Rob CZ

    Rob CZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That was the issue! Thank you!
     
  11. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,240
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Rob CZ


    Awesome I'm glad we were able to help! Thank you for letting us know as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Ajay Witt

    Ajay Witt Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice