The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amazon S3 cPanel Backup Configuration

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Kevin Muldoon, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. Kevin Muldoon

    Kevin Muldoon Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South America / Scotland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently moved hosting company (WHM/cPanel to WHM/cPanel).

    I have configured Amazon S3 backups in my new hosting account. I created a new bucket for my new hosting plan and made sure all other settings matched what they were in my previous hosting company.

    Despite this, Amazon S3 does not seem to be backing up.

    The one difference between the two hosting accounts is that I previously had internal backups enabled. I have now disabled these on my new server as I do not feel they are necessary with me backing up to Amazon S3 and to other third-party services such as VaultPress, CodeGuard etc.

    Why is Amazon S3 not backing up with my new hosting plan?

    Do internal backups need to be enabled in order for Amazon S3 to operate correctly? Or is there another setting in the WHM that needs to be enabled or disabled for Amazon S3 backups to work.

    Kevin
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    What output do you see in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/$logfile.name when generating backups? Are your users selected under "WHM Home » Backup » Backup User Selection"?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Kevin Muldoon

    Kevin Muldoon Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South America / Scotland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael.

    Do you have an email address that I can send you the log file too?

    One backup was attempted on 17th April. The second website in my account list was trying to be backed up; however, the backup failed. It backed up 206mb of a website that is 427mb in size.

    Under backup user selection, I have enabled backups for all accounts, but disabled legacy backups for all accounts. Backups and legacy backups are both disabled in the main configuration page as I do not need to keep internal backups.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature if you want us to take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Kevin Muldoon

    Kevin Muldoon Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South America / Scotland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. I have opened a ticket.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you let us know the ticket number so we can update this thread with the outcome?

    Thank you.
     
  7. Kevin Muldoon

    Kevin Muldoon Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South America / Scotland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apologies. I should have stated that previously.

    It is ticket 6409103.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, backups were actually disabled on this system. Backups must be enabled in order for them to work for remote destinations.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page