Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

AMD Opteron + FreeBSD + x86_64bit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackie46, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    We are looking into order a 2 x AMD Opteron 246 w/1MB L2 cache server and have the choice of FreeBSD x86_64bit.

    Has anyone managed to install FreeBSD in 64bit mode + cpanel on their servers? If so, what is the performance like and have you noticed any issues?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Hi,

    I'd suggest you stick to the 32bits version. cPanel has had too many issues in 64bits mode on several of our CentOS servers; even the initial install is not flawless...

    Regards.
     
    #2 Bdzzld, Apr 21, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2006
  3. IPSecureNetwork

    IPSecureNetwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    64 bits issues

    is tru , i have serious problems whit cpanels 64 bit versions . so i have 5 servers runing over freebsd 32 bits and works very very good.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice