The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD64 FreeBSD 6

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Game Wizards, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. Game Wizards

    Game Wizards Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey,

    Does anyone have amd64 fbsd 6 working ok with cPanel?

    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  2. wzd

    wzd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey Scott,

    I've been having trouble getting my AMD64 to work with FreeBSD let alone Cpanel.

    I dont see any reason why it shouldnt work :) I believe Cpanel does support 64bit architecture. Although i cant find many resources about it :eek:

    Although it is interesting to see that Cpanel seems to fail under a centOS install on 64bit:

    http://www.atlas-tuesday.com/centos-41-64-bit-cpanel

    Another article about Cpanels move to 64bit (Which was maybe a bit fast) :
    http://www.webhostgear.com/298.html

    Be warned it is quite scathing and the person is probably a pissed off individual who tried to install it under deadrat or something ;-)

    Let us know if you've given it a go

    :)
     
    #2 wzd, Dec 27, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2005
  3. Game Wizards

    Game Wizards Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey

    I have cPanel running fine on CentOS 4.2 amd64. I also have FreeBSD 6 amd64 installed on another box. I want to replace the 4.2 box with BSD. I'll request a reload and see how it goes.

    Thanks!
    Scott
     
  4. wzd

    wzd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good to hear about it working fine on CentOS.

    I'm getting another box added into a co-location plan and it's probably going to be 64bit. will give it a go and let you know if anything comes up.

    Good luck and keep us updated! :P
     

Share This Page