The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

anonymous ftp problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Radio_Head, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hello

    I use proftpd .
    I have some client which has problems logging with Anonymous ftp ;
    ftp doesn't permit to login Anonymously also if anonymous ftp is enabled
    for upload and download.
    Can you tell me why ?
    I receive the error
    530-Unable to set anonymous privileges.
    530 Login incorrect.



    Thank you
     
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Is it a shared or dedicated IP?

    What logon are they using?
     
  3. cybercrypt13

    cybercrypt13 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its a shared IP and they were using the plain anonymous login before but now you are forced to provide a login, even through the browser when you point it to the ftp site. And to a user that doesn't know what to put, that confuses them. Before it would just open the anonymous site...

    I've never been asked for a username and password before going to an anonymous ftp site in the browser so I know this is not standard practice...

    thanks,

    cybercrypt13
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It is not unusual (though far from universal) to have to provide some sort of login for anonymous ftp access. Have you tried ftp@domain.com with no password?
     
  5. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I fixed the problem in this way

    first I downgraded to version 128 using
    /scripts/proftpd128
    then I upgraded to latest making a cpanel update .

    The problem has been fixed but now I have another problem .

    When it connect it shows ...


    Finding Host ftp.domain1.net ...
    Connecting to 64.x.x.x:21
    Connected to 64.x.x.x:21 in 0.000000 seconds, Waiting for Server Response
    220 ProFTPD 1.2.8 Server (ftp.domain2.com) [x.x.x.x]


    I try to open ftp.domain1.net but it opens ftp.domain2.com !!!


    Any idea ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page