The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another [ipcheck] thread (sorry)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by raadmin, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I hate to start another one of these, but I've read about a dozen of these ipcheck threads on here already and I've followed about everything I've read.

    I have a rackspace cloud server with centos. I've just finished the setup a few days ago and have been getting this email once a day (or 20 diff times when manually checking)

    my /etc/hosts file is

    Code:
    127.0.0.1              localhost localhost.localdomain
    50.56.199.15         gpsmain.reputationgps.com
    my resolv.conf is (currently. I've tried about a million other things)

    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 4.2.2.1
    nameserver 4.2.2.2
    nameserver 4.2.2.3
    nameserver 4.2.2.4
    I checked with intodns.com and it says all is ok, tho it lists weird IPs for the nameservers (does this matter? I'm guessing no.) The only problem listed is something about duplicate MX records but on rackspace I only have 1 listed.
    Ask whatever relevant info you need, since you most likely know better than I do at this point. I really can't figure out where the problem is.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, this matters. It's important that the "A" record for your hostname pointing to the server's IP address is added at the DNS hosting provider of the domain name associated with your hostname. In this case, you would ensure the "A" record is added at the DNS server for reputationgps.com. The DNS server is not always the cPanel server. It's the server that hosts the IP addresses used for your name servers.

    Thank you.
     
  3. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The A name on the rackspace control panel is set to
    Code:
    name: reputationgps.com 
    content: 50.56.199.15
    domain: reputationgps.com
    ttl: 300
    The one on whm is:
    Code:
    hostname: gpsmain.reputationgps.com
    server main ip: 50.56.199.15
    Is this what you mean?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You would add an additional "A" record for the hostname of the server at the DNS host, as the one that exists now is for the parent domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  5. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So add gpsmain.reputationgps.com on the rackspace control panel?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that will allow the hostname to properly resolve to the correct IP address.

    Thank you.
     
  7. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, hope that works. I'm assumnig I probably need to wait 24 hours to make sure it propagates?

    Thanks for all the help.
    I'll report in 24hours.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    While it can sometimes take up to 24 hours, propagation often occurs within a few minutes. After you have confirmed the "A" record for your hostname has propagated, you can use the following command to determine if the "ipcheck" script detects any problems:

    Code:
    # /scripts/ipcheck --verbose
    Thank you.
     
  9. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yup, I've been trying to command a few minutes to hours after the changes I kept trying. I tried it just now and I still get the error and email.
     
  10. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sadly, I still get the same problem.
    According to intodns.com I've gotten rid of the double MX record, but the name server listed is still something I don't recognize.
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The hostname doesn't resolve to any IP address still via digs on it:

    root@host [/]# dig +short gpsmain.reputationgps.com
    root@host [/]#

    For the nameservers, I am seeing the following for the primary domain:

    Code:
    root@host [/]# dig ns +short reputationgps.com
    ns73.domaincontrol.com.
    ns74.domaincontrol.com.
    root@host [/]# whois reputationgps.com | grep -i ns
          NS73.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
          NS74.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Those nameservers belong to GoDaddy and they are set to ns73 and ns74.domaincontrol.com ones for your main domain. You can go to Domain Dossier - Investigate domains and IP addresses, get owner and registrar information, see whois and DNS records and enter those nameservers to see they are owned by GoDaddy:

    You'll need to speak to your hosting provider to ask them why these GoDaddy nameservers are listed. You'd be far better off setting up private nameservers for your domain.
     
  12. raadmin

    raadmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This solved my problem. Apparently they never updated the nameservers for their domain. Thanks for all the help.
    That domain dossier site is nifty thanks for that too.
     
Loading...

Share This Page