The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another 'move account' question (partition)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lyttek, Jul 7, 2006.

  1. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Something's not jiving, either in what I've read or what I think I've read.

    Here's the situation...

    CentOS 4.3 server, two hard drives (hdb and hdd for example, not sure if letters accurate)

    hdd had been an unused spare. /home is on hdb.

    A client comes along wanting to have a large IMAP store, so I decide to pull hdd into use as a dedicated drive for that purpose.

    It's now mounted as /home2 and the client account created fine.

    Along comes another client, very small account. Because /home2 has the most free space, it gets created there. But when I go to move it WHM, it says there is only one drive-- sorry.

    Accounts created on /home DO show the option of moving them to /home2.

    Q1) how do I move an account from /home2 to /home?
    Q2) how can I reset the default to /home so that NO MORE accounts get created on /home2?

    :confused:
     
  2. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok, answered Q2:

    Under WHM Basic Setup, set the Home Directory Prefix to blank...

    So I guess now I'm looking for an easy answer to Q1 :)
     
  3. jsnape

    jsnape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just use the rearange accounts link in whm. or create a symlink to it from /home
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    As I mentioned in my first post, WHM manager reports only having one drive. I can move accounts from /home to /home2, but NOT the other way.

    As for symlinking... my opinion on that is that it treats the symptom, not the root cause. I'd like to fix the problem so I *can* move accounts around within WHM.
     
  5. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    had the same problem myself. 2 drives. moved accts to home2 but back i cannot do it ... does anyone know anything about this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page