The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antivirus feature ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dxer, Dec 30, 2003.

  1. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Is some kind of antivirus feature included with standard CPanel installation ?
     
  2. markie

    markie BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can install Mailscanner from layer1 and that includes clam av. Works really well for us.
     
  4. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Is there a way to install this from WHM or must do it manualy ?

    and what about configuration, any need of that or default installation will do good ?

    thanks
     
  5. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You have to install it from ssh as root, but it requires no additional setup beyond running the install script.
     
  6. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you dont have to edit the configuration of Exim ?
    http://www.sng.ecs.soton.ac.uk/mailscanner/install/exim.shtml

    also whats the command to run it ?
    and how to make it use clamav ?
    also how do you know that MailScanner is running else then its by ps ?
    i mean will it show any thing in the header of the emails recived ?
    thanks
     
    #6 bman, Dec 31, 2003
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2003
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The installation from layer1 makes all the necessary modifications for you.
     
  8. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i found layer1 and trying the auto installer now
     
    #8 bman, Dec 31, 2003
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2003
  9. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it goes to install perl modules and hangs there !
    i run
    WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.4-R72
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v2.1.1

    and i think is layer1 file is old or something
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    The installer works fine on rhe. Just give it some time.
     
  11. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    What is layer1 ?
     
  12. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  13. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it reaches this step
    installing perl modules and stays there for a long time with no change !

    edit:
    i i think i fixed the problem.
    i opened the install file and did the "installing perl modules" my self and removed that line

    now how can i be sure every thing is beeing scaned ?
     
    #13 bman, Jan 2, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2004
  14. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    What is "a long time"? Are you exiting out of the install?
     
  15. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i think its working

    root@xxx [/var/log]# tail maillog
    Jan 2 17:45:28 xxx MailScanner[5084]: Creating hardcoded struct_flock subroutine for linux (Linux-type)
    Jan 2 17:45:38 xxx MailScanner[5085]: MailScanner E-Mail Virus Scanner version 4.22-5 starting...
    Jan 2 17:45:38 xxx MailScanner[5085]: Using locktype = posix
    Jan 2 17:45:38 xxx MailScanner[5085]: Creating hardcoded struct_flock subroutine for linux (Linux-type)
    Jan 2 17:45:48 xxx MailScanner[5086]: MailScanner E-Mail Virus Scanner version 4.22-5 starting...
    Jan 2 17:45:48 xxx MailScanner[5086]: Using locktype = posix
    Jan 2 17:45:49 xxx MailScanner[5086]: Creating hardcoded struct_flock subroutine for linux (Linux-type)
    Jan 2 17:46:08 xxx MailScanner[5084]: New Batch: Scanning 3 messages, 6479 bytes
    Jan 2 17:46:09 xxx MailScanner[5084]: Virus and Content Scanning: Starting
    Jan 2 17:46:10 xxx MailScanner[5084]: Uninfected: Delivered 3 messages


    any way to read the info else then go to the log file ? is there like a cpanel interface or i think webmin has that
    also this MailScanner is version 4.22-5 can it be upgraded to 4.24 with our problems ?
     
    #15 bman, Jan 2, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2004
  16. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    I have exactly the same problem. And how do you do this:
     
  17. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Maybe you won't believe this:

    While at Installing Perl Modules... (for about 10 minutes), I hit the Enter button once and it continued installing and completed the process.
     
  18. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh !
    now how to make it use the latest MailScanner ? i mean upgrade it ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page