The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any path in URL that has the word menu, goes to CPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DeliDentis, Dec 7, 2002.

  1. DeliDentis

    DeliDentis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any URL that has &/menu& in it automatically gets forwarded to CPanel page. If I am not logged in as admin it opens the login dialog for CPanel and if I am already logged in it opens the CPanel page. For example, this opens normal ; http://www.mydomain.com/menu.html

    BUT a link like;
    http://www.mydomain.com/menu/menu.html
    Or a link like ; http://www.mydomain.com/index_admin.php/sitemanager/menu/list/

    immediately opens the CPanel.

    My hosting company (dzones.com) is using CPanel 5.3 and I have a shared hosting account.

    Is there a way or to avoid or a workaround this problem? I am currently implementign a content management system (EZ Publish) and this is going to cause me too much trouble, unless I can't disable this automatic forwarding to CPanel.

    Thank you
    - deniz
     
  2. DeliDentis

    DeliDentis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thaphantom,

    thanks for the reply.

    That's what I was thinking, but here is how their tech. suport replied to my help request;

    .......
    I am sorry, but it is not possible to do anything in this case. The control panel software is been designed in such a manner that, whenever the word &menu& is encountered, you will be taken to the control panel. I apologize for the inconvenience. I would suggest you to change your programs accordingly.
    .......

    So, you say CPanel has no configuration like this and it is the hosting company which had some how set it up like this.

    I am sorry, I am not very familiar with CPanel and I want to make it clear before I talk to tech service and insist on this to be changed.

    thanks
    -d
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    I will agree with thaphantom, there is no redirect built into cpanel for menu.

    The redirects they have are visible in httpd.conf for apache. I would have your hosting company check their httpd.conf for any Aliases or ScriptAliases for the word menu and change it.

    The redirect Aliases for cpanel by default are:
    /cpanel
    /securecpanel
    /controlpanel
    /securecontrolpanel
     
  4. DeliDentis

    DeliDentis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks folks,

    I really appreciate the help.

    hehe :) Yeah I agree that somebody is on crack! Or too busy with counting the bucks :) This is relatively cheap hosting with many futures that allow me to test very different stuff. They are generally OK, but not very good tech. support.

    Anyway ...

    I checked the httpd.conf and it has a line like this;
    ScriptAlias /ScriptAlias /menu /usr/local/cpanel/base/redirect.cgi
    thanks for pointing it out David!

    so obviously this is the line that is causing the problem. Since this is a shared hosting I am not sure they are gonna go in to trouble and change it. But the word &menu& conflicts with so many scripts written by others and by me, such a bad choice for an alias.

    Nevertheless I am going to ask them to change it. If they don't agree to change, is there a way I can overwrite this alias?

    thanks again for all the help.
    - d
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Nope. If you try to do it in .htaccess it will get caught in a loop.
     
  6. DeliDentis

    DeliDentis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, they say it is their company policy and cannot change it.

    Can't blame them for not changing it. It will be a massive trouble. It should have been thought at the beginning before choosing such a common alias for smth like this.

    Since there is no way to overwrite it, I think it is time to dig in to the script and do many find/replaces and hope that everything works without spending many hours on it.

    Thanks folks, both of you were very helpful and I appreciate it.

    take care.
    - d
     
  7. DeliDentis

    DeliDentis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, they say it is their company policy and cannot change it.

    Can't blame them for not changing it. It will be a massive trouble. It should have been thought at the beginning before choosing such a common alias for smth like this.

    Since there is no way to overwrite it, I think it is time to dig in to the script and do many find/replaces and hope that everything works without spending many hours on it.

    Thanks folks, both of you were very helpful and I appreciate it.

    take care.
    - d
     
Loading...

Share This Page