The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any way to force backup and upload only specific accounts?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Kent Brockman, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys, I'm having some serious issues when backing up some very huge accounts.

    The Scenario:
    - It's a cPanel based VPS where every day cPanel do daily backups and upload it to Amazon S3.
    - There are almost 200 domains, with varied disk usage, ranging from 5 MB to 50 GB...
    - I had to deactivate backups for those accounts using 10GB and up cause distance to S3 servers is big, and somehow it is causing timeout issues when transmitting huge packages on rush hours (cause the entire process can last 16 hours, every day).
    - And we don't have alternatives, like using the current disk, or attaching another one, and FTPing is ever slower.

    And The Question:
    Is there any way I can run /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force but specifying only a couple accounts a need to backup AND that force the upload to the Additional Destinations. Or should I open a feature request? This can't be that difficult to code since you have already developed the platform, it would be needed that the script just read some params and execute backups for the selected accounts. No need for a UI if you don't want to.

    Let me know if it is possible or should I open a feature request case.
    Best regards
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate further on how this is different from the backup user selection feature?

    Thank you.
     
  3. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As Michael says above, it sounds like you just need the Backup User Selection. If a user has its backup switched off here, running the backup via the CLI will respect these settings and only backup users with their settings set respectively.
     
  4. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys, maybe I incorrectly put the idea.
    What I want is that when I force the backup for one account, the process also upload the generated tar.gz file to the Additional Destinations configured in the backup screen.

    Currently, if you run /scripts/pkgacct, it only packs the user account.
    Also, if you run /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force, it will backup and upload ALL of the hosted accounts.

    But from time to time, there are eventual issues where it would be valuable if I could force backup for a specific account and this could lead to the upload of the .tar.gz file to the configured Additional Destination.

    Got it? It's not that I want accounts to be excluded from backups. I know how to exclude them. What I want is to eventually be able to force backup of one specific account out of schedule, and automatically upload it to the remote destination.

    Any way to accomplish this or should it be considered a feature request?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can do this right now from within the cPanel account.
     
  6. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The only way I can see of doing this for the time being is using the backup wizard from with the client cPanel account. You can specify a remote destination for that backup cycle. The only limitation of this is that details must be entered manually each time and not all platforms (S3 for example) are supported via this method yet.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is currently not possible so you would have to open a feature request via:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
  8. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, I will. Thanks for understanding my request :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page