The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Any way to install "custom" modules in EasyApache4?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Spork Schivago, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CpanelMichael,

    My question is related to the custom modules but I'm not sure if I should create my own topic or add to this one.

    If I should create my own topic, could you please move this to a new thread?

    Once we're given the ability to add custom modules to EasyApache 4, would we be able to have HTTP2 support?

    I know HTTP2 requires OpenSSL 1.0.2 or higher and I know cPanel does not want to redistribute OpenSSL, which is understandable. I don't see why they couldn't check to see if OpenSSL 1.0.2 was installed on the system already though, and if it is, offer the http2 module, if not, simply don't show it. That way, if someone really wants HTTP2, all they'd have to do is find away to install OpenSSL 1.0.2 or higher onto their system.

    If we're given the ability to add our own custom modules, they'd appear in EasyApache 4, right? If so, then we should be able to add the http2 module, install OpenSSL 1.0.2 or higher manually (if it's not provided by the package manager of the distro) and then just run EasyApache 4 and we should have HTTP2 support, right?

    **EDIT: Never mind. It has been explained to me why my idea wouldn't work.

    Thanks.
     
    #1 Spork Schivago, Nov 30, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Spork Schivago,

    I see your question has been answered, however I did want to mention that with EasyApache 4, you can already create or customize RPMs and then distribute them on your system. The information on the following URL offers some advice on this:

    ea4.ninja

    You can also find the official feature request for Http2 support with EasyApache 4 at:

    EasyApache 4 HTTP2 Support

    Thank you.
     
    Spork Schivago likes this.
  3. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cool! So, if I can create or customize RPMs and distribute them on my system, I can actually provide OpenSSL 1.0.2 or higher and actually have http2 support?

    I'll be checking those links out! Will the custom RPM modules for Apache show up under EasyApache 4 when I go to provision a new profile?

    That'd be really nice. I was looking into where the list of what gets provisioned is stored. If I'm reading the code correctly, it almost looks like cPanel just uses yum and searches for something like ea-apache*-mod_* and then displays whatever it finds.

    Is that correct? If I wanted to add a custom module or something, I'd just have to create an RPM in a specific way and EasyApache 4 would auto-detect it and list it? Thanks!!!!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, while it's highly unsupported, you could manually install a different version of OpenSSL and setup a custom http2 RPM to use with EasyApache 4. That said, I'd recommend testing this out first on a non-production server.

    To answer your other question, yes, it will show up in the EasyApache 4 interface when provisioning a profile. You can see that functionality in action for a custom module such as Mod_Qos, as referenced on this post:

    Mod_qos Apache 2.4

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page