The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any way to safely rename the domain used by mailman?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Kent Brockman, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys. We have several (15+) mailman lists using one parked domain, but we need to turn everything back to the main account domain, including those mailman lists. Is there any secure way to rename the lists or migrate them to the other domain without having to reconfigure everything from scratch?
    Thank you!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's possible to modify the primary domain name of the account, but there are no automated tools to modify a parked domain name. In addition, removing a parked domain will remove mailing lists associated with it. I am not aware of any methods to rename the lists other than by doing so manually.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    ok, the more secure way will be backing up the users' lists, switching domains, and configure everything back again from scratch? No manual rename of files via SSH is possible either?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Unfortunately not. There have been attempts made over the years on renaming lists via ssh but to my knowledge they don't always work. There was always something that didn't work correctly afterwards and it caused more headaches then it solved.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - safely rename domain
  1. ffeingol
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    733

Share This Page