The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

any way to speed up restore?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by keat63, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The raid got corrupted on my server last week due to a possible faulty drive, so i had to rebuild and restore.

    Restoring two user accounts took almost as long as the rebuild due to my backups sitting on another hosted server.
    I had to download these to my PC, before i could upload these to the newly restored server.

    Is there a way in whm to connect directly to the ftp backup location, and perform a restore from there, rather than piggy backing my PC in to the equation ?
     
  2. mageshm

    mageshm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chennai, INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    @ keat63,

    Try to restore small accounts and see the status. If its going smooth do the same way for small accounts.

    For BIG account's take backup, only account configuration then move the public_html content manually using rsync.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you have root access to the server? If so, you could upload the backup archives directly from the remote FTP server to your /home directory on the cPanel server via FTP.

    Thank you.
     
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was hoping that configuring the backups and adding the ftp location would have allowed me to do this inside whm.
    After about 30 minutes of toying i gave up on the idea.

    Can you point me to the correct commands to do this via SSHD ?
    It may just come in handy one day.
     
    #4 keat63, Jan 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page