Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

any way to speed up restore?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by keat63, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The raid got corrupted on my server last week due to a possible faulty drive, so i had to rebuild and restore.

    Restoring two user accounts took almost as long as the rebuild due to my backups sitting on another hosted server.
    I had to download these to my PC, before i could upload these to the newly restored server.

    Is there a way in whm to connect directly to the ftp backup location, and perform a restore from there, rather than piggy backing my PC in to the equation ?
     
  2. mageshm

    mageshm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chennai, INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    @ keat63,

    Try to restore small accounts and see the status. If its going smooth do the same way for small accounts.

    For BIG account's take backup, only account configuration then move the public_html content manually using rsync.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,617
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you have root access to the server? If so, you could upload the backup archives directly from the remote FTP server to your /home directory on the cPanel server via FTP.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was hoping that configuring the backups and adding the ftp location would have allowed me to do this inside whm.
    After about 30 minutes of toying i gave up on the idea.

    Can you point me to the correct commands to do this via SSHD ?
    It may just come in handy one day.
     
    #4 keat63, Jan 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,617
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice