The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone Know About this error hd

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackal, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hdc: attached ide-disk driver.
    hdc: task_no_data_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    hdc: task_no_data_intr: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }


    Backup drive?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's whatever drive /dev/hdc is. Use df to check which partitions are on it. IF you're seeing a number of those in /var/log/messages then the drive could fail at any time so you should get it replaced. If you're only seeing the error when you reboot the server, it might not be a problem as some drives report errors on boot.
     
  3. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've had a similar error showing up daily since a reboot last week. The datacenter decided to replace the backup drive, but the error still occurs:

    Apr 4 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    Apr 4 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }
    Apr 4 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    Apr 4 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }
    Apr 5 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    Apr 5 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }
    Apr 5 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    Apr 5 20:45:13 host kernel: hdb: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStatusError }


    Although now it only shows up when upcp runs, which is probably caused by this (segment of upcp mail):

    Using smartcheck config 5.32 for smartctl(5.1)
    Checking /dev/hdb....S.M.A.R.T does not appear to be enabled for this
    device.

    The odd thing is that this error didn't occur before, and smart has never been enabled on this drive. As mentioned, replacing the harddrive didn't help getting rid of the error.
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Although it is hard to judge without testing your HDs, both the old and the new, but your new/old HD is/was not failing.

    That is not actually an error. It is the kernel going out to the hard drive and asking for the S.M.A.R.T thresholds, and the hard drive is responding by saying it doesn't support S.M.A.R.T. If you haven't sorted this out by now, you'll have to hire a sys admin to look into this issue.
     
  5. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The harddrive has SMART capability though (see below), as did the old drive, it just isn't/wasn't enabled. This configuration has never generated these errors in the past.

    === START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
    Device Model: WDC WD800JB-00ETA0
    Serial Number: WD-WMAHL1997705
    Firmware Version: 77.07W77
    ATA Version is: 6
    ATA Standard is: Unrecognized. Minor revision code: 0x00
    Local Time is: Tue Apr 11 05:50:09 2006 GMT
    SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
    SMART support is: Disabled

    I'm not worried about it as long as the errors only appear when upcp runs. I'll have the datacenter look at it again though. The people at the datacenter don't seem to be such a big fan of SMART, they generally keep it disabled on backup drives. Perhaps enabling smart on this drive would get rid of the errors though.
     
  6. aingaranweb

    aingaranweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I'm getting the same errors as JamesBond. James, have you resolved the issue?

    Thanks,
     
  7. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, still getting thse errors when upcp runs (because of the smartcheck)

    In my case the backup drive itself is fine, I don't see any errors in the logs when I mount/unmount the drive or when backups are written to the drive, so I'm not that worried about it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page