The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know how to install pico?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I guess cpanel does not install it anymore by default. :(

    Thanks,
     
  2. astopy

    astopy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What operating system?
     
  3. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just create an alias "alias pico=nano", It always works for me :) and Nano is better than pico.
     
  4. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Centos 3 is the OS
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Or, provided that nano is installed:

    cd /usr/bin
    ln -s nano pico
     
  6. OCX

    OCX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    wget ftp://ftp.cac.washington.edu/pine/pine-4.64-1.i386.rpm

    Installing RPMs
    For most cases, it should be enough simply to grab the first binary package and run the following command:

    rpm -ivh pine-4.64-1.i386.rpm

    This installation should succeed on most recent RedHat and Fedora systems, and will likely succeed on recent Mandrake systems as well. Other useful rpm commands include:

    rpm -Uvh pine-4.64-1.i386.rpm

    to upgrade an existing pine installation, and
    rpm -e pine
    to uninstall an existing pine installation.

    then pico away :)
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh pine is pico or installs pico, Cool thanks.
     
  8. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Pine is an email & news system application that also brings you the Pico text editor.
     
    #8 sh4ka, Oct 9, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2005
  9. j37h3r

    j37h3r Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry for the old thread...

    error: Failed dependencies:
    libldap.so.2 is needed by pine-4.64-1.i386

    ???
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Just do what Chirpy says. It's almost exactly the same thing.
     
  11. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Doing the following can also help you with it

    Please type the following commands in the shell


    # EDITOR=vi
    # export EDITOR
    # VISUAL=vi
    # export VISUAL


    This will surely also help you out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page