The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone knows how to enter SSH thro' Putty, for home computer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kigoobe, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. kigoobe

    kigoobe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    Just wondering if anyone knows how can I connect my computer to SSH using Putty. Well, it's not about connecting to my distant server, I need to connect to my home PC where I work, using Putty.

    Anybody?
    Thanks.
     
  2. websupport

    websupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello

    Just download putty on your home computer.
    Click on putty icon provide IP address for your home
    computer and then provide user name and password
    to access the specified pc/server.

    :)
     
  3. WebHostDog

    WebHostDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello is it a UNIX based OS or Windows ? If it is an UNIX uses SSHD properly configured. If Windows find SSHD solution for Windows or use telnet. You may use some good Remote admin programs like Access Remote PC and etc.




    Thanks.
     
  4. kigoobe

    kigoobe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys

    Thanks for your replies ... well, I am already having putty installed in my computer, so may be I would like to go with that if possible. Problem is that, it asks for IP address and port to enter, while in case of the remote server I can use what my host has provided me, what I would use here?

    I need -

    1. An IP address - my computer uses dynamic IP (windows XP)
    2. Port - well, may be I could try with 22
    3. Username - what I will use here
    4. Password - and what will come here as well, since it is my home computer?

    Thanks for any help guys. I am struggling with this since more than 6 hours now ... :confused:
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You cannot SSH to a windows machine unless you have installed some sort of SSH daemon. You're better off trying to use RDC (Remote Desktop Connection) or PCAnyWhere. Other than that, you're also better looking for help on this on the microsoft site as this is not cPanel related.
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    For your dynamic ip solution, you could use a service such as dyndns.org for free.
    Many routers will perform the login and updates automatically and a router
    would help keep you connected as well if you are on dsl.

    Otherwise, simply use their free updater client. You can then assign yourself a
    host name that will always be reachable no matter what your ip may be.

    As for your remote solution in addition to what everyone else offered, I like using
    many of the VNC projects. Most will work cross platform for remote control
    desktop.
     
Loading...

Share This Page