The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone solve the RC4 SSL issue?

Discussion in 'Security' started by WebHostPro, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    SSL LAbs is still giving me the
    RC4 Yes WEAK error.

    I have tried every setting listing on this forum and on the web I could find but none get rid of the error.

    Anyone fix this on a cpanel server and feel nice enough to share?

    Thanks!
     
  2. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have "SSLHonorCipherOrder On" in an includes file (pre_virtualhost_global.conf). The Cipher Suite used to get an "A" on ssl labs is ridiculous, but you can try:

    Code:
    SSLCipherSuite ALL:ECDH+AESGCM:DH+AESGCM:ECDH+AES256:DH+AES256:ECDH+AES128:DH+AES:ECDH+3DES:DH+3DES:RSA+AESGCM:RSA+AES:!RSA+3DES:!ECDH+3DES:!DH+3DES:!aNULL:!MD5:!DSS:-SSLv2:-SSLv3:!MEDIUM:!LOW:!EXPORT56
    
    Edit: I just tested this cipher suite without setting the SSLHonorCipherOrder On and it still passed, including the RC4 check.
     
  3. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Awesome that fixed it, but now I get this error:

    This server supports weak Diffie-Hellman (DH) key exchange parameters. Grade capped to B.

    I'm starting to think SSL Labs is a scam to get you to buy their stuff lol JK but my god it's always something!

    Thanks if anyone knows how to fix the weak Diffie-Hellman (DH) key exchange parameters issue. :)
     
  4. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That is odd, I don't get that error using the same cipher. I totally know how you feel though lol.

    Out of curiosity, are you using apache 2.4 or are you still on 2.2? 2.4 really ought to straighten it out if you are still on 2.2.
     
  5. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am running 2.2 I'll update that and check it! Thanks again.
     
  6. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Strange now my note2 cell phone will not access the ssl on the site.

    Any ideas what might be stopping it from working?

    Blows me away that is such a process, sorry for the hassle. You would think you can just install a SSL cert and have it do what it needs.
     
  7. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Unfortunately right now we're stuck in between a rock and a hard place with SSL, the rock being usability and the hard place being compliance. To be honest if you don't have a PCI vendor you have to deal with, I'd just use the default PCI recommended apache options in WHM and call it a day.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Right, as mentioned by quizknows, you are going to sacrifice compatibility with certain applications in order to obtain the PCI compliance rating. It's up to you to determine which is more important.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page