Anyone using cPanel on a Rackspace Cloud Server?

spaceman

Well-Known Member
Mar 25, 2002
515
7
318
By the sounds of it, cPanel should run just fine/normally on a Rackspace Cloud Server:

Cloud Hosting & Cloud Computing FAQ from The Rackspace Cloud

It sounds like this service presents/performs exactly like a dedicated box.

Is anyone actually using the Rackspace Cloud Server with cPanel? Any lessons/warnings/cautions/notes to share?

Thx,

Ross.
 

sm9

Active Member
Oct 10, 2009
35
0
56
I'm also keen to hear if anyone has any experience of using cPanel/WHM on a Rackspace Cloud Server.

I've just signed up for an account with Rackspace and would love to get cPanel/WHM on one of these servers (which are far as I can tell, are just VPS's).

Thanks,

Stephen
 

eth00

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Mar 30, 2003
721
1
168
NC
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I have not used it but I don't think you will run into any problems with running it. cPanel is handy but overall pretty basic on what it requires from the system.
 

sm9

Active Member
Oct 10, 2009
35
0
56
Thanks John, and thanks David too for the guide, excellent! :cool:

I think I might just give this a try right now! :D

Thanks,

Stephen
 

sm9

Active Member
Oct 10, 2009
35
0
56
Hi there,

Just to report back, I've had two aborted attempts at installing this due to problems with my home Internet connection. Will try again once my ISP has resolved these issues (connection dropping every 30 mins).

Following your guide though, i did have to add one additional step before entering the sh latest command.

When I first tried entering sh latest, I got this error message:

Your hostname is not set properly. Please change your hostname to a fully qualified domain name, and re-run this installer.
So I had to enter this command to give my Cloud Server a hostname:

hostname myserver.mydomain.com
The install then seemed to be working fine before my terminal session froze due to my Internet connection dropping.

Will report back when I've tried again.

Thanks,

Stephen
 

sm9

Active Member
Oct 10, 2009
35
0
56
By the way, I registered a 15 day trial license in order to test this install (which I assume will work fine when I get that far with the installation). If it works out successfully during the 15 day trial period, can I buy a cPanel VPS license directly from cPanel? I couldn't see it in the Store (unless I'm missing something?). If not, I'd welcome any recommendations (either publicly or via PM) on where to get this from.

Thanks,

Stephen
 

cPanelDon

cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
Staff member
Nov 5, 2008
2,545
12
268
Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
By the way, I registered a 15 day trial license in order to test this install (which I assume will work fine when I get that far with the installation). If it works out successfully during the 15 day trial period, can I buy a cPanel VPS license directly from cPanel? I couldn't see it in the Store (unless I'm missing something?). If not, I'd welcome any recommendations (either publicly or via PM) on where to get this from.

Thanks,

Stephen
cPanel VPS licenses are available only through cPanel Partners. For information about how to become a cPanel Partner NOC and the included benefits, I recommend referring to the following page dedicated to the topic:
Become a cPanel Partner NOC - cPanel Inc.

Here is a link to our directory for locating a cPanel Partner NOC:
Partners - cPanel Inc.

For any additional questions related to licensing and Partner NOC information I recommend contacting sales or customer service via the following page:
Contact - cPanel Inc.

Here is our specific page for cPanel VPS Optimized where you may find additional details and product information:
VPS Optimized - cPanel Inc.
 

sm9

Active Member
Oct 10, 2009
35
0
56
Hi there,

Just to confirm, I managed to install cPanel on a Rackspace Cloud CentOS server fine! I used a 4GB RAM machine (the plan was to use a good server for the install in order to make it happen quicker, though not sure if this made any difference at all) and it took about 3 hours to install in total - thought it was going to fail at one point after it resarted spamassassin (hung there for several minutes) but it kept going in the end and seems to be ok!

Of course, need to get some websites on there to see how it goes, and I'm keen to see how it handles the VPS increasing/decreasing in size, but it seems promising.

By the way, in the install guide, it says that you recommend 40GB for a cPanel installation, but going to WHM > Server Status > Server Information > Current Disk Usage shows the following in use straight after installation:

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 150G 4.0G 139G 3% /
none 2.1G 0 2.1G 0% /dev/shm
/usr/tmpDSK 485M 13M 447M 3% /tmp
So it's currently using just over 6GB in size, whilst the System Requirements page for cPanel says it needs at least 10GB in hard disk space. Besides the disk space used for websites, does this 6GB grow much with updates etc over time?

Also, 6GB seems quite a lot - are there any resources out there to trim this down by maybe disabling/removing non-essential features?

Thanks,

Stephen
 

Anveo

Registered
Sep 18, 2002
3
0
151
One thing to keep in mind is the virtual servers can only have 4 additional IP addresses, and those four can only be used on SSL hosts.
 

daor79

Registered
Nov 17, 2009
3
0
51
By the sounds of it, cPanel should run just fine/normally on a Rackspace Cloud Server:

Cloud Hosting & Cloud Computing FAQ from The Rackspace Cloud

It sounds like this service presents/performs exactly like a dedicated box.

Is anyone actually using the Rackspace Cloud Server with cPanel? Any lessons/warnings/cautions/notes to share?

Thx,

Ross.
You can find their tutorial to install cPanel at their cloud here CentOS - cPanel/WHM 11.24 - The Rackspace Cloud -- Cloud Servers Knowledge Base, which makes me wonder if they are able to install it for you. Best thing is to contact them for more information
 

mikeyd

Registered
Aug 13, 2010
1
0
51
Those of you who managed to set this up: How did you handle DNS? I am currently trying to sort that out so DNS is managed through cpanel and not rackspace's cpanel, but any tips would sure help a lot.
 

craigedmonds

Well-Known Member
Oct 29, 2007
114
0
66
Europe
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
They WILL NOT install it for you even if you have managed services with them lete alone non managed services

I have just had the following back from them today (28/5/2011)...


I apologize for the inconvenience but cPanel is not a product that is supported by Rackpsace Managed Cloud. We only support the OS itself and a certain subset of applications such as MySQL and Apache for example.

That said, cPanel will install their software on your server for free as part of the purchase of your license. You can get more information about this free installation service that they offer at the following page:

https://www.buycpanel.com/requestinstall.php

Please note that if you do use cPanel on your cloud server, we will be unable to support your web server due to the vast changes that cPanel makes. We will still be able to support other parts of your server though such as a MySQL database, the OS itself and many other parts.
Further update from them this morning...

The reason why we would be unable to support the web server is due to the vast changes that cPanel makes to it. Any configuration changes that we would make to apache would be detected and reverted by cPanel, and modifying the web server configuration directly (which is the only way that we have access to modify it), is not recommended by cPanel.

Also, installation of cPanel usually also entails running a DNS server on the same server. We do not support using a Cloud Server as a DNS server although we do offer DNS servers for your use with high availability already built in.

There are a great number of things that we will support, such as Apache (but we cannot support it if it has been reworked by cPanel), MySQL, PHP, software updates, package installation (typically limited to packages available in your OS's repositories), iptables, postfix configuration etc.

If you like I can forward this ticket over to an Account Manager for more detailed information.
So basically rackspace "sez no" to Cpanel.
 

victomeyezr

Well-Known Member
Sep 25, 2008
54
0
56
Thats funny, because we have been running cPanel on one of their servers for 6 mos. Haven't had a single issue... Well exept for having to fight with them in the beginning to get their IP for DNS resolution.. :)
 

craigedmonds

Well-Known Member
Oct 29, 2007
114
0
66
Europe
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
Thats funny, because we have been running cPanel on one of their servers for 6 mos. Haven't had a single issue... Well exept for having to fight with them in the beginning to get their IP for DNS resolution.. :)
But will they support you when the kaka hits the fan?

I have been told categorically by Rackspace that "Rackspace will not support Cpanel on Managed services".

I think they are scared of it.
 

victomeyezr

Well-Known Member
Sep 25, 2008
54
0
56
That also mean they don't "allow it" just they don't support it. But it is VERY interesting, they have a knowledge base article on the subject, but not support it. lol

Actually I think it is because their system "randomly" deletes servers and their image. Had this happen to me on more than one occasion. It wasn't the cPanel server but another one. Their tech support claimed this isn't possible, but the whole server magically reset back to a default Linux load, with not a thing installed on them.. :(
I also take image backups VERY regularly, just in case. :)
 

oshs

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Sep 5, 2004
146
0
166
Yes but why should they support it if you are renting an unmanaged cloud server from them? And if you went for a managed service, firstly it will cost a bomb and a half, and secondly they'd want you to use their control panel, which would probably be a better choice anyway if you were willing to pay for their managed service!