The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone using the Php open_basedire tweek?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, Jul 30, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    php open_basedir Tweak
    Php's open_basedir protection prevents users from opening files outside of their home directory with php.

    Did anyone run this? If so, how is it running?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've played with it. And it works as advertised. So the vBulletin control panel throws an error trying to get at /proc/loadavg. And PhotoPost will break from not being able to get to /usr/local/bin/mogrify. I haven't had time yet, but I am going to edit /scripts/phpopenbasectl and add these paths and try it again.
     
  3. www-lab

    www-lab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm using that feature and I requested it :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. raventec

    raventec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So far so good here. No reports of problems. I do most of the php and cgi installs for most of my clients though, and I tend to select scripts that don't need to go wandering around outside of their directories ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried it as well, but disabled it again, because I'm using a SSL certificate which I call like this:

    https://secure.servername.ch/~username

    Unfortunately then I get the message, that I open a file which is outside my home directory. But this is not true at all...

    I did not have enough time to test it out.

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, but i would have thought that you would have opened up httpd.conf and for that sites with the cert, commented out the open BD directives for that site.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. qwerty

    qwerty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Will the open_basedir option in WHM automatically add the open_basedir config to all NEW accounts when they're setup in the future, or only the existing ones?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    It will add it to all new accounts, too.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. qwerty

    qwerty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thanks that's good to know. Just one last question .. why is it that the /tmp directory is added in open_basedir, why not /home/username/tmp since every user has a tmp dir on cpanel boxes anyway?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    tmp inside the user dir is not used for saving temp files generated through Apache

    But /tmp is used for sessions, attachments and many others stuff.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. thrax

    thrax Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    issues with photopost and cpanel

    I have read through here and it sounds like a solution was come accross for the problem can someone let me know what it is as I am haveing hte same issue.

    Thanks in advance

    Jay

    Warning: chdir(): No such file or directory (errno 2) in /usr/home/users/localrid/public_html/photopost/header-inc.php on line 12

    Warning: main(mainfile.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /usr/home/users/localrid/public_html/photopost/header-inc.php on line 13

    Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required 'mainfile.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /usr/home/users/localrid/public_html/photopost/header-inc.php on line 13
     
  12. McRox

    McRox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NL
    Re: issues with photopost and cpanel

    Disabling openbase_dir for the domain "secure.servername.ch" might help I think. (Not sure if that fixed it for moduserdir or openbasedir)
     
Loading...

Share This Page