The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyway to change my mailserver name?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by sexy_guy, May 11, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I realize my hostname is used as my mailserver name during all mail transaction; Received: from srv01.fastservers.com ([207.xx.xxx.xxx]) however i was wondering if there was a way to define a different mailserver name without having to actually change my hostname. Our resellers are complaining that all msgs display our domainname. This wouldnt be such problem however that would mean our security certificate would need to be repurchased if i changed my hostname just to display a different server name. :confused:
     
  2. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can also set primary_hostname to nothing in exim.conf

    We've been playing with it and have not had any glaring issues.

    Mail is still going in and out.

    The header would now look like

    Return-path: <user@domain.com>
    Envelope-to: user@domain.com
    Delivery-date: Sun, 11 May 2003 15:29:56 -0400
    Received: from toronto-hse-ppp3678374.sympatico.ca ([65.95.xxx.xxx] helo=user)
    by with smtp (Exim 3.36 #1) -Notice no primary hostname
    id 19EwWC-00043j-00
    for user@domain.com; Sun, 11 May 2003 15:29:56 -0400
    From: "User Name" <user@domain.com>
     
  4. sqsisa

    sqsisa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    You can use more than 1 MX record to point to the same A record. Several domains get shot to the same mail server.
     
  5. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you add primary_host = BLANK it works for incoming msgs however if you send a msg from the server, the server still reports the servers hostname as being received from when the receipient gets the msg. Thats my problem. Also, i look at the log i see this;

    2003-05-12 00:15:27 19F7Wx-000889-00 <= powerful@ U=powerful P=local S=2650

    Notice there is no TLD for powerful@? Eeek! So by changing primary_host to blank the server doesnt know what the tld is?
     
    #5 sexy_guy, May 12, 2003
    Last edited: May 12, 2003
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yeah, and we found a couple of domains rejecting mail because that was left blank.
     
  7. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you could change the reverse dns on ip to something more bland & also set the primary_hostname to match so it wouldn't be immediately obvious when its received by the recipent mail servers (based on the assumption that the srv01 stuff was for the purposes of the post and the not the real name)
     
Loading...

Share This Page