The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache 1.3.28 upgrade, now error 403

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by pr-design, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. pr-design

    pr-design Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i ran scripts/easyapache to upgrade to 1.3.28 and now every page on the server says 403 forbidden..
    in the error log here is what it says:
    (13)Permission denied: /home/user/public_html/.htaccess pcfg_openfile: unable to check htaccess file, ensure it is readable

    im not sure why upgrading would cause that. the files should still be readable...dont know if it has to do with permissions or owners... is this happen to anyone else? and what can i do?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Did you check permissions on that file..?

    Brenden

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. pr-design

    pr-design Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah, they are all readable...they didnt change. every single file on the server in any user directory does this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Check the directory and the one above it and the one above it.. etc

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. pr-design

    pr-design Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i think the problem was that it didnt like php compiled with libmcrypt.. its resolved now..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. donnie

    donnie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    uk
    Don't need to do any thing to rid out of this B.U.G

    First run :

    /scripts/updatenow


    then run

    /scripts/enablefileprotect

    Hope it will work :)



    Donnie

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. DarkSide

    DarkSide Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio USA
    I had a similar problem and thanks to donnie the problem is fixed. Thanks Man!
    However, when i create a new website now I have to chmod the public_html folder to 755 else I receive a 403 error. I was wondering if anyone knew how to set new websites public_html to default to chmod 755.

    I tried to chmod the root/cpanel3-skel/public_html to 755 but it didn't work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dark Side, an educated guess for fixing your problem would be to now update to the newest Cpanel version -- of whichever release you are using -- since you have to do it at some point anyway.

    Let us know how it turns out.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    I have a similar problem too. It keeps chmodding the directory 750 instead of 751. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Code:
    root@ciphin [~]# grep 750 /scripts/wwwacct
    mkdir("$mnt/$user/public_ftp",0750);
            chmod 0750, "$mnt/$user/public_html";
    root@ciphin [~]#
     
  11. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll see your 750 and raise you to 755.

    # grep 755 /scripts/wwwacct
    mkdir("$mnt/$user",0755);
    mkdir("$mnt/$user/public_html",0755);
    mkdir("$mnt/$user/public_html/cgi-bin",0755);
    mkdir("/etc/httpd/$logdir",0755);
    mkdir("/etc/valiases",0755);
    mkdir("/etc/vfilters",0755);

    ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. tomkoch

    tomkoch Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had the same prob and put in a ticket. Apparently Apache.1.3.28 has an issue with the frontpage module. If you set up an new account after upgrading you will see where it will screw up your permissions in the txt before" account created"
    Set up a bogus domain and you will see where it's at.
    Tom

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got the same problem :( i sent in a ticket to cpanel about it

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker

    That fixed it for me, thx.
     
  15. lyzer

    lyzer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks so much guys /scripts/enablefileprotect fixed my 403 problem that occurred out of nowhere!

    -andrew
     
  16. BuffaloWeb

    BuffaloWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    FYI, I just had the same issue but for future reference, I had chowned public_html to user:user - it needs to be user:nobody since Cpanel makes public_html 750...
     
  17. jchavezb

    jchavezb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fixed!!! Thank you.

    /scripts/enablefileprotect fixed it for me.

    Nothing worked after trying all the permission changes, .htaccess backup and mods, apache restarts, etc. Until I ran into this thread mentioning this script.

    Thank you very much.
     
Loading...

Share This Page