The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache 1.3.31

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by r3diensten, May 13, 2004.

  1. r3diensten

    r3diensten Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rossum, Overijssel, Netherlands
    When is Apache 1.3.31 supported? it has some bug + security fixes

    Regards,

    Roy Bakker
    R3 Internet Services
    Holland/The Netherlands
     
  2. r3diensten

    r3diensten Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rossum, Overijssel, Netherlands
    CHANGELOG APACHE

    The Apache Software Foundation and The Apache HTTP Server Project are pleased to announce the release of version 1.3.31 of the Apache HTTP Server ("Apache"). This Announcement notes the significant changes in 1.3.31 as compared to 1.3.29 (1.3.30 was not released).

    This version of Apache is principally a bug and security fix release. A partial summary of the bug fixes is given at the end of this document. A full listing of changes can be found in the CHANGES file. Of particular note is that 1.3.31 addresses and fixes 4 potential security issue:

    * CAN-2003-0987 (cve.mitre.org)
    In mod_digest, verify whether the nonce returned in the client response is one we issued ourselves. This problem does not affect mod_auth_digest.
    * CAN-2003-0020 (cve.mitre.org)
    Escape arbitrary data before writing into the errorlog.
    * CAN-2004-0174 (cve.mitre.org)
    Fix starvation issue on listening sockets where a short-lived connection on a rarely-accessed listening socket will cause a child to hold the accept mutex and block out new connections until another connection arrives on that rarely-accessed listening socket.
    * CAN-2003-0993 (cve.mitre.org)
    Fix parsing of Allow/Deny rules using IP addresses without a netmask; issue is only known to affect big-endian 64-bit platforms

    New features that relate to specific platforms:

    * Linux 2.4+: If Apache is started as root and you codeCoreDumpDirectory, coredumps are enabled via the prctl() syscall.
    * Add mod_whatkilledus and mod_backtrace (experimental) for reporting diagnostic information after a child process crash.
    * Add fatal exception hook for running diagnostic code after a crash.
    * Forensic logging module added (mod_log_forensic)
    * '%X' is now accepted as an alias for '%c' in the LogFormat directive. This allows you to configure logging to still log the connection status even with mod_ssl

    The following bugs were found in Apache 1.3.29 (or earlier) and have been fixed in Apache 1.3.31:

    * Fix memory corruption problem with ap_custom_response() function. The core per-dir config would later point to request pool data that would be reused for different purposes on different requests.
    * mod_usertrack no longer inspects the Cookie2 header for the cookie name. It also no longer overwrites other cookies.
    * Fix bug causing core dump when using CookieTracking without specifying a CookieName directly.
    * UseCanonicalName off was ignoring the client provided port information.
     
  3. networxhosting

    networxhosting Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA
    its in easyapache now, i've been using it for a few days now, no problems
     
  4. nappa

    nappa Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are you sure ? When I login to the WHM - I see the 1.3.29 is the version installed, and the latest available.
     
  5. networxhosting

    networxhosting Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA
    Yes, run /scripts/easyapache and you will see. php 4.3.6 is also there. Seems that cPanel hasnt updated the "Latest Versions" in their WHMnews but they *are* there
     
  6. Novisoft

    Novisoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Algiers, Algeria.
    problem after updating

    Hello,
    I juste did an update 1.3.29 > 1.3.31 but apache doesn't starts !

    It doesn't works now some have a solution ?

    Thank you

    Lyes
     
  7. nappa

    nappa Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you have mmcache installed ? if you do - you might need to reinstall it after removing it.

    Do you have other modules loading that aren't standard ?

    what error do you get ?

    Did you take off something from the Easyapache that was preticked ? ( it's a bad idea to remove SSL or Frontpage in a few cases ).
     
    #7 nappa, May 29, 2004
    Last edited: May 29, 2004
  8. Novisoft

    Novisoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Algiers, Algeria.
    Ouf...it works :)

    Thank you appa

    I did another upgrade of apache through whm this time. Everything seems to be ok right now. Php and cgi are working properly. I don't know what's happened!

    Thanks once again

    Lyes
     
  9. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: problem after updating

    How did you do it? Im running 1.3.29. I see no option to upgrade to 1.3.31, not in WHM or via easyapache. So how on earth did you do it? :confused:
     
  10. Faldran

    Faldran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: problem after updating

    It is automatic update when you do it via WHM or easyapache. You do not have a choice of which version of apache, like the choices of php that you may have.
     
  11. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: Re: problem after updating

    No sorry, thats not true. I recompiled one of my box only 1weeks ago and 1.3.31 was not installed. Whats the big mystery?
     
  12. fleksi

    fleksi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    php 4.3.6 [TESTING] ????

    php 4.3.6 still on TESTING. Has anyone upgraded to apache 1.3.31 & php 4.3.6 without any problem?
     
  13. LP-Trel

    LP-Trel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nirvana
    Re: php 4.3.6 [TESTING] ????

    Yep, I've been running it for months now. ;)
     
  14. Funkworkz

    Funkworkz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wanamingo, MN
    Re: php 4.3.6 [TESTING] ????

    I have too, no problems at all.
     
  15. Jedia

    Jedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CN
    i have problam, apache core dump:(
     
  16. erwinfa

    erwinfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to stop apache before run /scripts/easyapache
     
  17. Jedia

    Jedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CN
    yes, i ran this scripts and upgrade Apache to 1.3.31, PHP to 4.3.5, my server running FreeBSD 4.10. restart Apache and get a core dump msg, i found this is a bug in php.net, then i try to delete all Apache and PHP files , reinstall all of them, no way, core dump not fixed. i don't want to reinstall system :(
     
  18. erwinfa

    erwinfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I usually got the core dump when I update apache without to stop apache first.
     
  19. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I never knew you had to stop apache to run easyapache. I've always ran easyapache,, while apache was still running... should i start turning it off?
     
  20. Brando

    Brando Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There's an additional 4.3.7 version of php in the apache update session. just wondering if i should be switching to that version? :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page