The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache 2.0 ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by wadearnold, May 23, 2003.

  1. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering if anyone is using apache 2.0 alpha beta with cpanel. I have a client requesting to use it but I am not so sure that I want to deal with the support.

    Is anyone using it? If so what is your reaction thus far?

    wade

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mjs975s

    mjs975s Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been asking this same thing for nearly 2 months and still no reply from Cpanel yet on this topic.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. promak

    promak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when you install cpanel it will auto change it to apache 1.3.27

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. JoshuaBrown

    JoshuaBrown Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yep, it will default back, i too am waiting for cpanel to change it, but as the other guy said, no reply for months. Typical

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. promak

    promak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh waiting Cpanel With Apache 2.x

    i have use apache 2.x for other server now!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. mjs975s

    mjs975s Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Come on Cpanel Support. We've been asking for months now. When will Cpanel be fully compatible with Apache 2.0.x???

    There are so many things that depend on Apache 2.0.x to run properly (especially XML dom and XSLT) and we need Cpanel for Apache 2.0.x. There have been 8 public releases of Apache binaries since it hit 2.0 so it's more than time to make Cpanel compatible and current.

    Please advise as to what efforts are being taken to accomplish this instead of ignoring requests as usual.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    apache ALPHA

    I'm wondering if anyone could explain by apache2 for cpanel being in alpha?

    I'm new to control panels but not linux, and don't really understand how a control panel, could possibly render a stable program all the way back to alpha?

    I know apache itself is stable and secure, I have it on 3 production boxes pushing about 1500gigs/month.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. mjs975s

    mjs975s Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think you mean CPanel for Apache2 not the other way around and he was asking if you could use CPanel with Apache 2 (ALpha or Beta) versions. The answer is no because CPanel reverts you back to an older Apache build as mentioned above.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cpanel is already installed and running the apache 1.3.27, and I would really like to get apache 2.0.x on my servers.

    Do you mean that after I install apache 2.0.43 alpha, that cpanel will automatically reinstall apache 1.3.27? I highly doubt this if this is what you mean.

    how does apache and cpanel exactly interact? Does cpanel change apache and its modules source code?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Nico

    Nico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Apache 2.0

    I have been playing around with 2.0 on a box here at home and having problems authenticating using php and mysql. Specifically where the user/pass is stored in the mysql DB. Anyone else run into this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. zenpig66

    zenpig66 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes, Nico, PHP and apache2 haven't exactly been playing nice with each other.....I believe there are some redirection issues among others probably related to threads.

    I don't think it's so simple to say, 'hey, we want apache2 with CPanel' simply because individuals here are looking for a 'full service' cp with simple installation scripts and all where, for example, any version of php is considered experimental with apache2..that is according to the developers of php, not CPanel. In other words, how can the developers of CPanel come up with what they consider a stable release with apache2 when a main application it incorporates isn't considered stable with it?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Thanks, it's nice people like you that keep idiots like me from upgrading at the first chance. I'm glad I saw this part about incompatibilities before trying to upgrade.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page