Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Apache 2.0

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by gunmuse, Feb 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ok,

    I have done the upgrade to mysql 4.1.8 and haven't seen anything causing me grief from cpanel itself.

    Now I am wanting to upgrade to Apache 2.0.xxx

    I know it says experimental.

    My question is What problems are there?

    If its only a few programs that don't work that I don't use anyway then I would upgrade.

    but if the WHM is going to crash completely not worth while.

    I use Awstats, Fanstatisco, The X2 theme and the normal functions of add/remove accounts and what not in the WHM.

    Is it safe for me to upgrade to 2.0 with php 5.03 mysql 4.1.8 if I am running just a basic webserver.

    I only want the 2.0 for the fact we run a search engine would like the speed 2.0 offers over 1.3. So there is a need one I am willing to give up some function for. Just not basic function.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Questions like this are not rhetorical. Do I really have to open a trouble ticket to talk to a cpanel tech as to why I am still limited to Apache 1.3 Its causing grief with the Microsoft FP extensions as the last Microsoft update series. The only support for that is in Apache 2.0.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    As I explained in your last post regarding php5, the answer to your question here is: yes, you do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gunmuse

    gunmuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Then why have a forum?

    I want to upgrade to 2.0 and AVOID problems and avoid creating troubletickets.

    It would seem your current policy is to create problems. How about instead of saying "Buggy" you put a list of known bugs with upgrading to that feature? I don't see how your other members benefit from me learning the reasons why and they don't.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I have told you what you need to do to get a response from cPanel tech support.

    Closing Thread.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice