The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache 2.0

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by gemby, Apr 9, 2002.

  1. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hey Nick, I have noticed that Apache 2.0.35 is out, and stable. Is there any way that you make a module so we can install, and try it on.;)
     
  2. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I doubt it will be yet - heard loads of reports how PHP doesn't work with it.

    --James
     
  3. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why upgrade something that doesn't need upgrading?
     
  4. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, but 2.0 is faster, and more secure, and as far as i know, there is no problems with php, i have it on development machine and have no problems at all. And most important thing, 2.0 dosent allow &browsing& on whole server by php, 1.3.x does and i had to modify httpd.conf for all clients do disallow php from doing that (in 2.0 it is built-in in server level);)
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    mod_perl,php,frontpage are just a few of the things that don't work with 2.0 yet .. if your clients can stand that they 2.0 might be an option for you.. I think that rules out everyone
     
  6. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, i know now, there is no way i can live without php on server, so we will wait for a while 4 a 2.0, right?:p
    BTW, has anybody had problems with customers that write scripts that can browse all over entire server? (all folders) They can read all conf files, read other users scripts (conection files), etc...i disabled it by hand in httpd.conf for every user by hand, but after i add new account, i had to add it by hand...

    php_admin_value open_basedir &/home/username:/tmp&

    is there any way i can add it in php.ini some global setings for all accounts?
    4 example
    open_basedir &/home/$USER:/tmp&

    (offcourse, this isn't working)

    any ideas?
     
Loading...

Share This Page