The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache 2 and GD

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by ittsmee2, May 13, 2008.

  1. ittsmee2

    ittsmee2 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Earlier I was told that Apache 2 was not stable with cpanel, but I have since learned that Apache 2.0 is sufficiently stable that it is the default version of Apache on all new cPanel/WHM servers as of a few months ago.

    I was also told that you couldn't install the GD libraries on Apache 2, can anyone confirm this?

    I would prefer to run Apache 2 with the gd libraries, and I am also wondering about either lightppd or lightspeed and what benefits might there be in either of these.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You trying to compile GD right into Apache or using it in a more typical fashion: compiling it into PHP or using it with Perl?
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've been running Apache v2.2 on my and hundreds of clients cPanel servers with GD with no problems at all.
     
  4. ittsmee2

    ittsmee2 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I went ahead and upgraded apache to 2.2 with php5 and gd and we will see how it goes.

    My other question is about lightppd or litespeed. Has anyone used these and if so what have been the advantages?
     
  5. ANewDay

    ANewDay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I am using litespeed on my server, it can handle much more requests per second and mitigates ddos rather easily if properly tuned. It also uses way less memory., at the moment, it's using only 8MB. :)
     
  6. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I compiled Apache 2.0 with gd on two cPanel servers. No problems.

    Can litespeed work well on a cPanel server? How to implement it?
     
  7. ANewDay

    ANewDay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
  8. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Apache has the added advantage of being free. LS is a bit pricey compared to that. Is it worth the cost?
     
  9. ANewDay

    ANewDay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, it can double server capacity and serve more clients.
     
Loading...

Share This Page