Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

apache 2 on cpanel?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by wheimeng, Jun 28, 2004.

  1. wheimeng

    wheimeng Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    hey, has anybody tried apache 2? how is it working out? is it stable? or any significant performance increase?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    cPanel will not run on Apache v2 at present.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ianwinter

    ianwinter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Is it going to anytime soon, I need apache 2 to run coldfusion on. cfmx and apache 1.3.x is a pain.

    Otherwise can you run whm/cpanel on 1.3 and run all the services on port 80 on a custom installed version of apache ie 2 :confused:
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i guess i fail to see how apache 1.3.x can be a pain and apache 2.0.x is not. Excusing a few syntax and module differences they are the same. Same pain in the rear to compile and same to administrate
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Rackster

    Rackster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Disclaimed How-To

    I found this tutorial on how to upgrade to Apache 2.0.47, if that's what you need.

    Kindly read the disclaimer, thanks.

    Link to tutorial: http://www.webhostgear.com/120.html

    Hope that ease some of your headache. :)
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    But cPanel still won't work with it :rolleyes:

    cPanel have an alpha build for Apache v2 (which is now nice and old) on http://layer1.cpanel.net
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice