The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache 2 support !? when ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by mOdY, May 1, 2006.

  1. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello, i've read before in some post that cPanel will be putting Apache 2 support sometime in April, now it's May so where's the big change you promised ? :rolleyes:
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  3. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This friday according to another thread
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apache 2 and Cpanel is getting to be almost the same
    on going cliche as the Furlings in Stargate:SG1!

    (For those who are not Stargate fans, the second season of Stargate:SG1
    listed the names of "4 great races". The show is now getting ready to go
    into it's 10th year on the air and still no sign of the "4th race" mentioned
    in the second year which was called "the furlings")
     
    #4 Spiral, May 2, 2006
    Last edited: May 14, 2006
  5. Nick A

    Nick A Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    If Cpanel dev says its going to be out soon it is.. last i heard its supposed to be out after the next new stable release which should be soon.. because release was updated yesterday.
     
  6. Pyro411

    Pyro411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stanton, Michigan.
    Spiral - Correction, Furlings :)

    But yea, apache2 would be nice. we've waited a while, we can wait a bit longer.
     
  7. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yeah, would bypass a lot of issues and would increase our availability of control over apache, also i wonder if there any way i could get easyapache to get my own php-snap.tar.gz from php.net either than the chosen one... this is due to SO many security issues found this month in php-4.4.2 & 5.1.2
     
  8. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it's been about another 2 weeks and still vaporware .... Grrr
     
  9. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yeah, i think cPanel stuff can't IMAGINE what kind of a mess is being caused by this LEGACY web server they'r forcing us to use, also they have to provide some private patches for MANY bugs in the latest php version in buildapache.

    Hope someone could care about even getting a beta testing apache 2.2.2 installer or something.
     
  10. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'd hardly consider Apache 1.3.x "legacy"

    However, as soon as STABLE is out, EasyApache will follow with Apache 2.2.x support. It should be within the month.
     
  11. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would! I was using Apache 2.x for nearly two years on my old servers using Plesk
    and that was back on Plesk v5.5 and Plesk 6.0 which was many version releases ago!

    When we changed over to Cpanel, we had to downgrade all our server machines to 1.3.x !!!

    Just as an FYI, we converted all servers over to Cpanel nearly a full year ago so the simple
    math on that says you've had at least 3 years minimum to start supporting Apache 2.0!
     
  12. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, i didn't invented the word, but grabbed it out from the official Apache.org site, also from the points in why it's legacy is the UN-stability on x86_64 machines comparing to Apache 2.2.x which is a complete rewrite of the down layer code and the Complete support for x86_64 archs machines.

    Also at least do update the easyapache to be having the latest 1.3.35 as long this isn't hurting anybody.

    Would like to hear an almost release date of the new easyapache which supports Apache 2.2.x
     
  13. exo

    exo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Expect it when Apache 3.3 is out.

    I'm seeing ETAs for Apache 2 prior to WHM 9. Just look at the date of buildapache_test for Apache 2:

    buildapache2-ALPHA_TESTERS_ONLY.tar.gz (Mon Aug 18 19:47:12 2003)

    3 years ago.

    Any new eta as "this friday", "this month", "the end of this month" or similar is just a lie.
     
  14. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    No comment... :D
     
  15. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't even do that ....

    Apache 1.3.33 is what compiles every time I use EasyApache for some odd reason
    and the Cpanel News page in WHM also shows up as latest 1.3.34 and says the
    current installed version is "3" which makes no sense whatsoever.
     
  16. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try unticking "skip apache build if up2date"
     
  17. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA

    Yep I have "Apache 3" running on my boxes and it's very special!!! Only a few very special people run that version!!! Where did you manage to get a copy? naaa just kidding. You have that set in httpd.conf for security reasons I bet to hide it's true identy from the worms and scanners. Look in httpd.conf and see if it's in there.
     
  18. mOdY

    mOdY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, i think a lot of pals is mad enough now especially after the releasing of many bug reports based on the " < apache 1.3.36 " version, so i think it's not an issue of apache 2 or something now, it's just appears to be that cPanel _REALLY_ can't get the picture of a hosting company loosing it's reputation after relying on cPanel, we yes _USED TO_ trust/rely cPanel when it was keeping their stuff up-to-date but for now i think they have to have a minute of twice thinking about the issue, especially when it's said that they'll be releasing some new version by Monday which have just passed :rolleyes: ... whatever, i think i'm done with my talking here as i feel no change/care. :confused:
     
  19. alex2k

    alex2k Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When apache release v4, cPanel will release v2 :D
     
  20. timdorr

    timdorr Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The whole buildapache2 project was abandoned a long time ago, so blame their webmaster for that. Apache 2.x "support" was added in easyapache a long time ago, and they've been building to it ever since (with the HTTP templates, for instance). It's not a lie, and it's almost done, in fact. But, QA is QA and could push it back if enough bugs are found.
     
Loading...

Share This Page