The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Build/Upgrade not working

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by junglecat, May 4, 2007.

  1. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.2-C11519
    FEDORA 4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I'm having all sorts of problems with apache during the last couple of days. I want to rebuild it in WHM, but when I click "Start Build", it doesn't build, it just goes immediately to the page that says:


    Apache Build/Upgrade
    Building Apache Config.....Done
    Downloading and compiling apache+modules....

    Build Complete


    What might be wrong?
     
  2. Kung!

    Kung! Registered

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm in the process of helping her out, although I'm no guru; I was able to download part of the log, and it is as follows (I've replaced the IPs and user directory names, obviously):

    After it starts saying 'file does not exist', and the 2 or 3 PHP fatal errors, the rest of the log is ENTIRELY made up of those 'file does not exist'....and it's growing ASTRONOMICALLY - as in, MB per HOUR.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Disk /dev/sda3 (/usr) is 100% full this morning. Apache keeps failing. I still can't get apache to build. I'm not sure what to do. :confused:
     
  4. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update your version to latest build, that should help you with your latest problem. PM me if you need more help.
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    take a look in /usr/local/apache and see if you see any core files. If you do ..delete them and restart apache

    If you guys are using the ea2 to attempt to get apache2 ..that's a bad idea.
     
  6. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I'll bite. How do I update version to latest build?
     
  7. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No core files.

    And a dumb question. What is ea2?
     
  8. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ea2 --> easyapache to get apache 2. Don't use it because cPanel has dropped that version. Wait till they come with ea3.

    What version of apache are you running now?

    Upgrade cPanel/WHM goto WHM main screen cPanel button hit it and then the "upgrade to latest version" button.
     
  9. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know what version of apache it is. I always go to Apache Update in WHM.

    I upgraded cpanel per your instructions. I had already updated it in shell, and that didn't fix the problem, so I just tried it in WHM as you suggested.

    Now I'll try apache build again and see what happens.
     
  10. junglecat

    junglecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache successfully rebuilt, and so far since then (/usr) is staying around 25% to 27%. :D

    I'm hoping it's fixed!
     
  11. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good :D to see you have fixed it by yourself.
     
Loading...

Share This Page