The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Cache? How to?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Snowman30, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Im having a lot of customers ask why apache isnt cacheing to speed up performance.

    Anyone have any advice or a how to on this?

    Ive had a hunt around but havent found much that is cpanel specific.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Normally, you'd do that with a transparent proxy (e.g. with squid). Or are you more interested in a MySQL query cache?
     
  3. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    im having a lot of clients complain that images etc from their sites arent being cached by their browsers and that they are reloaded everyt time they come to their site

    so i was assuming their is a way to make apache cache images etc

    i was thinking of mod_headrers but i dont know if im on the right track or not...

    basically i just want to enhance the speeds of pages for the clients

    i have zend installed and am runnign mod_gzip but am looking for more
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  5. FriedEgg

    FriedEgg Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    mod_headers can do it, but mod_expires will probably be exactly what you're looking for. It's also easier to include with cpanel's apache builder. I believe it'll only work on "static" files like images and plain html. PHP scripts will have to set the headers themselves.
     
Loading...

Share This Page