The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache compile

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by shann, Feb 28, 2003.

  1. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    If i want to add the module and compile apache. Can I do like this.

    go to /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/ and modify config.pl
    and run buildscript*.

    what else I have to do?

    If I want to add xslt, can I add following line

    $SETMODULE{'php-xslt'} = 1;


    any help appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,
    You are better off just downloading the buildapache.sea file,
    wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea
    sh buildapache.sea
    then if you go into the advanced menu you will be able to set it to install XSLT,
    Thanks :)
     
  3. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    Hi,

    Jim thanks for your reply, I really appreciate.

    Is it wrong by modifying config.pl and add $SETMODULE{'php-xslt'} = 1;

    after run buildscript?

    any answer would be help ful.

    Thanks
    shan
     
  4. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    when I try

    sh buildapache.sea, getting followig error message. Can I
    delete buildapache directory?.


    Creating directory buildapache
    mkdir: cannot create directory `buildapache': File exists
    Cannot create target directory buildapache
    you should perhaps try option -target OtherDirectory

    Thanks
    shan
     
  5. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    yeh you can delete the directory,
    or just try
    sh buildapache.sea -target build-apache
    Thanks
     
  6. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    When I try to compile, I am getting following error

    configure: warning: If configure fails, try --with-tiff-dir=<DIR>
    checking for the location of zlib... /usr
    checking for PDF_show_boxed in -lpdf... no
    configure: error:
    PDFlib extension requires at least pdflib 3.x. You may also need libtiff, libjpeg, libpng and libz.
    Use the options --with-tiff-dir=<DIR>, --with-jpeg-dir=<DIR>, --with-png-dir=<DIR> and --with-zlib-dir=<DIR>
    See config.log for more information.

    how could I solve it.


    thanks
     
  7. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Are you sure you followed the instructions to install pdflib to the letter (copying the file needed files to phpdir/ext/pdf and rebuilding the configure script)?
     
  8. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply, waht do you mean by configure script?


    This is what I am trying.

    ./configure' '--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs' '--with-xml' '--enable-bcmath' '--enable-calendar' '--with-curl' '--with-swf=/usr/local/flash' '--enable-ftp' '--with-gd' '--with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local' '--with-png-dir=/usr' '--with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6' '--with-imap' '--with-imap-ssl' '--with-kerberos' '--enable-mbstring' '--enable-mbstr-enc-trans' '--enable-mbregex' '--with-mcrypt' '--enable-magic-quotes' '--with-mysql' '--with-pear' '--enable-xslt' '--with-xslt-sablot' '--enable-sockets' '--enable-track-vars' '--with-ttf' '--with-freetype-dir=/usr' '--enable-gd-native-ttf' '--enable-versioning' '--with-zlib' '--with-pdflib'

    any help would be appreciated.
     
  9. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  10. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    Hi,

    it is already in

    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.1/ext directory


    Thanks
    Shan
     
  11. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    That's the wrapper, you'll have to install pdflib if you want to use it from PHP.
     
  12. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    Thanks for quick reply. Is it possible to bring those options over
    easyapache.


    For example If I want to install new module such as "wddx" trough easyapache how could i do that?

    Do you have any idea about that?


    thanks
    shan
     
  13. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    Most modules are installed when you tell buildapache to install them. PDFlib is a special case because of its license. If you try to install PHP without pdflib you'll probably have no problems.

    If you need to install other modules that buildapache doesn't offer, you can recompile PHP on your own, "by hand", with all the configur options that buildapache set for you (see php-dir/config.nice) plus the new options you need (for example --enable-wddx). Just keep a backup copy of apache/libexec/libphp4.so so you'll always have a working copy of PHP.
     
  14. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi

    Thanks for your info.

    What is the difference between -with and -enable when we compile.

    Thanks
    Shan
     
  15. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi

    I have added

    --enable-wddx in the config.nice and when I try to compile via easyapache, I couldn't see wddx. Any suggestions.

    Thanks
    Shann
     
  16. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    It won't get installed via easyapache (well, sort of). You run easyapache once normally. Then you reinstall PHP with the options you need. To find out how buildapache configured and installed PHP, see the buildscript file in the buildapache directory (PHP is installed twice, once as an Apache module and once as a CGI executable).

    There's another (possibly simpler) way to do this if you are running buildapache in expert mode, which is editing the file buildapache/modules/php to add a couple new lines for your module, something like this:

    $SUBMODULE{'php-wddx'} = join(":","WDDX","--enable-wddx ","");

    then:

    $SETMODULE{'php-wddx'} = 1;

    then running buildapache/bs. You should see an option for WDDX under PHP and it should be activated by default (otherwise there's something wrong).

    Actually I've never installed PHP with WDDX but I think this should suffice.

    As for the difference between --with and --enable, see http://www.gnu.org/prep/standards_49.html - Anyway if you go to http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.wddx.php it says "After installing expat compile PHP with --enable-wddx".

    Be careful... ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page