The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

APACHE -- crashing a system

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by BurtonHost, Jun 19, 2002.

  1. BurtonHost

    BurtonHost Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Was running TOP and saw it happen - one process of apache uses all the processor and memory up, uses all the ram, all the swap, the load goes so high the server just crashes.. Can't find an explanation for this in the logs and I kept restarting apache and it would do it. Then, after a while it stopped and it's been fine since..

    I'm told it was most probably the Apache exploit discovered but have to wait for a patch to be released by cPanel to update it..

    Anyone else experienced this? Any solutions?

    Thanks
     
  2. norm

    norm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Find the PID of the process and compare it to server-status and see which website is responsible.

    You may have a client running a resource intensive script
     
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    ps auxf sometimes helps. some times it will show you the scripts that is comsuming that apache process.
     
  4. BurtonHost

    BurtonHost Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thing is you can't catch it in time.. as soon as the apache process goes wild you cna't issue any command without a major lag as all teh processors, ram and swap get eaten in a matter of seconds...

    I've been recommended to format and reinstall..
     
  5. Mat

    Mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Right after it happens, turn off apache, and then look at the access logs, and see the last scripts executed, and track it down that way.. :D

    You don't need to format..
     
  6. BurtonHost

    BurtonHost Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Be careful of loops in PHP scripts.. they kill your server if you set it infinite.. and that's a guarantee..
    The Apache memory limit is ineffective.
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:b04cd2051d][i:b04cd2051d]Originally posted by BurtonHost[/i:b04cd2051d]

    Be careful of loops in PHP scripts.. they kill your server if you set it infinite.. and that's a guarantee..[/quote:b04cd2051d]
    BurtonHost, you're quite right on this. Do you know of any protection against this?
     
  8. BurtonHost

    BurtonHost Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, I thought Limit apache memory was meant to sort this, but the script as soon as it was run just kept on going, and ate up all the ram, swap and processor.. so nothing would work on the server.. and you couldn't login to SSH for ages until it eventually freed some processor.

    I'm hoping there will be something produced for protection against this..

    I can give you a copy of the script if you would like.. and you can see it kill your server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page