The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Failed after updated

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by vietkool, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. vietkool

    vietkool Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I logged to server and saw a red banner noticed that I have run insecured Apache click here to update , yeah ... I did click there and after run all update, now I keep getting tons of email from server telling me that my Apache has failed and restart automatically ... It cause the server run really slow now...
    is anyone can help me out or know where I can hire some administrator to take alook my server please ?

    help me , my customer are going crazy now

    thanks
     
  2. ctmattice

    ctmattice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did the same to me.

    best thing to do is.

    1) log into to your server through ssh

    2) might not be required but log in as su

    3) go to /script or /scripts can't remeber whether it's plural or not

    4) type "./easyapache and follow the prompts

    5) to make sure you get it up and running take option 1 for the default configuration.

    6) this should restart apache. Of course as with all *nix systems no matter how stable the best thing to do after you get it back up and running the way you want is to do a graceful shut down just to make sure memory is cleared. Many *nix admin don't agree with this and that's up to you to decide.
     
  3. vietkool

    vietkool Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks for reply my post, but I am so new to this please bear with me . I have my server managed by an administrator that I hire, now he on vacation or something I could not contact him in time. since the server Apache keep failed, so I have to do something
    please step-by-step instruct me how to go to SSH ? what software do I need to use ? I have one program called "putty" can I use this program login server and follow this :
    please help!
     
  4. paulm

    paulm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do exactly as follows and you will need the root login.

    Open putty and put your IP address into the address bar and hit enter

    This will open a black window type 'root'

    Next is will say 'root's password?' you type in the password

    type 'cd /scripts'

    type './easyapache'

    You will see an option to set defaul values select it and run it, this takes about 10 minutes usually and then let us know if it is ifixed :)
     
  5. vietkool

    vietkool Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okie, I did exactly the instruction stated and everything went through just fine, after that I did Graceful Reboot but I still have Apache failled and resin failed. so far I have received 3 email from server notified the apache failure.
    Looking to my Server Status I saw server load CPU went up to 27.63 and a Red circle Icon blinking ? what happended
    here is one off my customer website test it out see how slow it is http://vietvienxu.com/VVX/
    it was realy fast and now it is really slow :(
    please help
     
    #5 vietkool, Nov 6, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2004
  6. RavenSoul_

    RavenSoul_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    It takes a while to become green (about 10 minutes) after a(n) upgrade/install/reboot.

    That's realy sucky about WHM, i know :)
     
  7. vietkool

    vietkool Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    this morning I check my email and recieved 8 emails notified Apache failed. Is there anyway I can try to fix this problem ?
     
  8. ThaMATRiX

    ThaMATRiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    use
    service chkservd restart
    from root's ssh
    it refreshes alll the services status page.
     
  9. SupermanInNY

    SupermanInNY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    I have a problem everytime that I upgrae Apache.
    The httpd.conf file is being recreated with some entry I haven't checked exactly what, and it fails the start of Apache.
    Chances are that you are experiencing a similar problem.
    What I've leared to do in the past was:

    Make a copy of the httpd.conf before you do the easyapache run.
    Then, after the run,. delete the newly created httpd.conf.
    Rename back the copy you made to httpd.conf and then restart apache.
    It should then work fine.

    Good luck.

    -Alon.
     
  10. vietkool

    vietkool Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't have any back up httpd.conf file ... and I still get Apache failed all the time that make all server run extremely slow when apache try to restart automagicly
    any other tip will be appreciate
     
Loading...

Share This Page