The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache failed and dont restart by itself

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by uv3net, Apr 19, 2003.

  1. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello,

    Since more than 72 hours, Apache failed every 10 minutes and if i want my domains back, i have to restart the service manualy.

    Someone have a solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sure, a starting point anyway. Log into shell and run this command:

    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -t

    It will check your httpd.conf file for errors. If there are any, it will state what it is a what line so you can fix it.
     
  3. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    This is the result after doing /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -t

    Warning: DocumentRoot [/dev/null] does not exist
    [Sat Apr 19 12:17:31 2003] [warn] NameVirtualHost 64.62.159.7:80 has no VirtualHosts
    Syntax OK

    What do you think?

    Thanks...
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The VirtualHost warning is no biggee, just means the IP address can be deleted from your httpd.conf file -- WHM doesn't always remove an IP when an account is terminated.

    The first one though, do you not have a /dev/null listing? Do a: locate null and see what comes back.
     
  5. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    warning: locate: could not open database: /var/lib/slocate/slocate.db: No such file or directory
    warning: You need to run the 'updatedb' command (as root) to create the database.

    Do you think i have to 'updatedb' command (as root) to create the database ?

    Thanks for helping me.
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Something strange is going on here.

    /usr/bin/updatedb

    Type that in, wait till finished (5 - 20 minutes) then type: locate null
     
  7. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    /usr/bin/updatedb...it happen nothing when i do this.
     
  8. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i am having a similar problem. any one have ideas? Any one wanna look into my server and take a look at what's wrong?
     
  9. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    This is the responce i receive from cpanel support

    "Eric G." eric@cpanel.net wrote at 2003-04-22 14:41:18 :

    This is actually normal. Apache does a
    graceful restart every 10 minutes to get rid&
    nbsp;of any defunct or abandon processes that
    ;may be running.

    --
    Eric Gregory
    cPanel Support Staff
    Berwick, PA Office

    cPanel, Inc.
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  11. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats hilarous because evertime i visit top i see all kinds of defunct processes so that means if Apache restarts every 10min i am getting defunct processes 24hrs a day 7 days a week because every 10min includeds some kind of defunct! Whats up with that?
     
  12. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Probably Cpanel Team know it's a BUG, but they dont want help to resolve this problem. They just want take our money but dont care about customers. It's what i think....
     
Loading...

Share This Page