The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache failed. Error is httpd.pid overwritten

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by phantom2, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. phantom2

    phantom2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here's the error I'm getting

    [Thu Mar 24 16:52:50 2005] [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
    semget: No space left on device

    Thanks
     
  2. phantom2

    phantom2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anybody have any ideas about this?
     
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would say one of your partitions is full

    run df and see if one is at %100
     
  4. esupport.org.ua

    esupport.org.ua Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It is not DISK trouble.
    Disk have a lot of space.

    It is MEMORY problem or KERNEL BUG.
     
  5. esupport.org.ua

    esupport.org.ua Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I changed init script apache, it clean all unused memory before start.
     
  6. sandeepb

    sandeepb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    It just means that semaphores are full.

    use ipcs and ipcrm to fix. Thank you.
     
  7. undef

    undef Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How to fix?

    Please can anyone can describe step-by-step what i need to do to slove this problem. Clean memory ore somthing else. Please describe in details what i need to do to fix this.
    Thx in advance
     
  8. ecn

    ecn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    re

    Have you tryed re Building Apchie

    [Moderator - comments removed: please don't advertise outside of the Ads & Offers forum]
     
    #8 ecn, Oct 29, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 30, 2005
  9. undef

    undef Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep i rebuild it couple of times still not work. I;m not intrested in server cause i'm hosting in Kazakhstan. I'm runing out of sever administrator right now so i ask for help. My admin gone :(
    I got some knowledges of linux so i'm trying to fix the problem now. Can anyone help me?
     
  10. p_s_p

    p_s_p Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also getting the same error, installed a new apache on the server, changed the cpanel build using upcp, recompiled apache with easypache, still the same problem.
     
  11. Same problem here out of the blue. What's the fix?
     
  12. madhav

    madhav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    check the disk space first.

    df -h

    check if you have any low memory problems with

    free -m

    Also let us know which version of kernel you are running.

    uname -r

    you can try deleting the semaphores in the server with ipcs and ipcrm. If you are not sure how to use it do the following:


    for i in `ipcs -s | grep nobody | awk '{print $2}'`; do ipcrm -s $i; done
     
  13. felosi

    felosi Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same crap, apache dies from nowhere and wont restart right. I have to totally stop it and then start it. this is definetly some bug in cpanels apache. just atsrted happening lately too.
    Ive rebuild apache numerous times and now I have to sit and babysit my server because apache wont start backl right. im currentlyu starting to move accounts off my cpanel server I cannot find a fix for this

    Jeez, people were having this prob a year ago. didnt know this post was that old when I replied.
     
    #13 felosi, Nov 27, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  14. bayo

    bayo Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you can solved by remove semaphore with this command :

    ipcs | awk '/^0x000000/ && /nobody/ {print $2}' | xargs -n1 ipcrm -s

    and now, restart yor apache : /scripts/restartsrv restart
     
Loading...

Share This Page