The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache failed @ Sat Mar 1 08:16:52 2003. A restart was attempted automagicly

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by xp2u, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. xp2u

    xp2u Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Apache failed and restart. What will make this happen and where can I find the reason of this restart?

    Anyone can advise?
     
  2. fujiwara takumi

    fujiwara takumi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you know Apache tanked on me at about 11pm CST tonight, and shes been running steadily for nearly a month now without a reboot. I ran a restart and she popped backup, but the CPanel didnt catch it for over 45 mins. I was also curious what caused it to start failing.
     
  3. paralard

    paralard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    Me Too... Apache, MySql and Bind

    Every time I reboot my server, Apache, MySql and Bind fail to start. It seems that I have to restart them using the restart services function to every time I reboot ??????
     
  4. homeuser55

    homeuser55 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The few times i rebooted the sever, Apache, MySql and Bind fail to start at first, but i give it some time on its own, and in a matter of a few mins.(sometimes 20) they are back up and running. Sometimes patience is a virtue.
     
  5. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If services are failing to start on system startup, log into a shell and make sure they are set to startup with the server:

    chkconfig --list <insert daemon name here>

    If it's not set to ON in runlevel 3 - it's not gonna start with the server.

    So issue
    chkconfig <insert daemon name here> on
    to change that.
     
  6. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I tried what you said, but I don't think I'm doing it right (I'm new to this). When I type:
    chkconfig --list bind it comes back and say's "error reading information on service bind: no such file or directory". What 'daemon' name am I suposed to use for Apache, MySql and Bind?
     
  7. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    help anyone?

    Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong???
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Use

    chkconfig --list named

    named=bind
    bind=named
     
  9. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache?

    I got Bind & MySql set to on now, but what is the name for apache? Thanks!
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Apache?


    httpd :D
     
  11. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It says: 'httpd does not support chkconfig'
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hmm, and so you are right!
     
  13. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache Anyone

    Does anyone know how to make sure Apache restarts automatically?
     
Loading...

Share This Page