Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

apache failed @ Sat Mar 1 08:16:52 2003. A restart was attempted automagicly

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by xp2u, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. xp2u

    xp2u Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Apache failed and restart. What will make this happen and where can I find the reason of this restart?

    Anyone can advise?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. fujiwara takumi

    fujiwara takumi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    you know Apache tanked on me at about 11pm CST tonight, and shes been running steadily for nearly a month now without a reboot. I ran a restart and she popped backup, but the CPanel didnt catch it for over 45 mins. I was also curious what caused it to start failing.
     
  3. paralard

    paralard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    Me Too... Apache, MySql and Bind

    Every time I reboot my server, Apache, MySql and Bind fail to start. It seems that I have to restart them using the restart services function to every time I reboot ??????
     
  4. homeuser55

    homeuser55 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The few times i rebooted the sever, Apache, MySql and Bind fail to start at first, but i give it some time on its own, and in a matter of a few mins.(sometimes 20) they are back up and running. Sometimes patience is a virtue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    If services are failing to start on system startup, log into a shell and make sure they are set to startup with the server:

    chkconfig --list <insert daemon name here>

    If it's not set to ON in runlevel 3 - it's not gonna start with the server.

    So issue
    chkconfig <insert daemon name here> on
    to change that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ok, I tried what you said, but I don't think I'm doing it right (I'm new to this). When I type:
    chkconfig --list bind it comes back and say's "error reading information on service bind: no such file or directory". What 'daemon' name am I suposed to use for Apache, MySql and Bind?
     
  7. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    help anyone?

    Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong???
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Use

    chkconfig --list named

    named=bind
    bind=named
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Apache?

    I got Bind & MySql set to on now, but what is the name for apache? Thanks!
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Apache?


    httpd :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    It says: 'httpd does not support chkconfig'
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hmm, and so you are right!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Apache Anyone

    Does anyone know how to make sure Apache restarts automatically?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice