The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Failing and not restarting - PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Chriz1977, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    Apache has fallen over and wont get back up again. The last entry in the apache error log is an unknown username error. This was just before the crash. The user was having troubles with a DNS entry as hed created a user without a domain and couldnt delete it (Nor can I as i cant find it anywhere in WHM except when I list reseller accounts, but thats another story)

    Ive looked at httpd.conf and found this at the bottom

    Which wasnt there before. Everything else looks ok.

    Any suggestions as to what to do to sort it? Ive tried to rebuild apache but no luck, same thing 'httpd failed to start'. Im getting bored of seeing that now, can anyone help me?

    Cheers
    Chriz
     
  2. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    httpd configtest

    to find errors

    if no error , look on your php.ini , and try to disable (comment) zend and ioncube lines

    restart apache
     
  3. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats the result. the missing dirs shouldnt cause a problem as theyre useres dirs, should they?
    How do I resolve the bad user name? just delete the dir and dns entry?

    cheers
     
  4. Anishts

    Anishts Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi

    Check the user name in httpd.conf (ie, from User directive )exists in /etc/password file.....
     
  5. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive got it all sorted. I had to delete the Virtual Host Entries for that user.

    This all came about because someone tried to create an account without adding a domain name. Is there any way to stop this happening in the future? You would think whm would have a check for this, wouldnt you?
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another one to add to the list for the argument for better Cpanel quality control! :D
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well you could submit it as a bug report I suppose ....

    "Cpanel allows sites to be built if domain not entered"

    I personally would consider that a bug! A big bug!
     
  8. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So how de we suggest things to be in the next release?

    Its easy enough to check if a textbox is empty so they hav NO excuse. Especially if one user doing that can crash a server, Its essential I think
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lovely! This forum site is broken too as my last reply is showing now in the thread
    before the post that I was actually replying to!

    (Looks like they have something resetting the clock on this server --- Just great! :rolleyes: )
     
  10. Chriz1977

    Chriz1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mine did that yesterday, i think it happens when you post at a time close to the last post.
    I think we confused it, lol
     
  11. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It shouldn't be doing that unless there is something wrong with the system clock
    on the server where this forum is hosted.

    Could be a number of things ...

    1. Syncronizing time using a list of multiple servers out of sync with each other

    2. CMOS battery on the mainboard is dead

    3. Motherboard / CPU is overclocked

    4. Someone or some script on the server resetting the clock for whatever reason
     
  12. rsaylor

    rsaylor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have seen this error countless times. It is mostly caused when a user deletes a domain and does not give the browser time to finish. But, there could be other reason's also. I agree, cpanel needs to make a better way for this, possible requening the process to a job instead of at the mercey of the browser.
     
Loading...

Share This Page