The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache failing to start

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by paulfraser, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. paulfraser

    paulfraser Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Apache on my server is failing to start. It is giving this error:
    root@tweety [~]# service httpd start
    Syntax error on line 2 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Invalid command 'Alias', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration
    /etc/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started

    on line 2 of httpd.conf is this:
    Alias /bandwidth/ /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/

    If this is commented out, it just gives another error, and when thats commented, another error shows, and on and on and on...

    anyone know what the problem is, or even better, how to resolve it?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you need to comment all of the bandmin alias's

    or reinstall bandmin

    /scripts/bandminup --force
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    This suggests a failed apache build. Rebuild apache+php and watch the screen carefully for any errors.
     
  4. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    same problem here and it isn't just the rewrite mod, all the modules are toast, appears to be bad path in the build or something... if you comment out alias it complains about the module.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If you re-compiled Apache with fresh copies of the modules successfully, it should be working. If not, check the log files. If you can't sort this out yourself, you can always seek professional help.
     
  6. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    YA THINK? thanks
     
  7. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Same Issue...

    I'm having the same problems. Maybe something in cPanel screwed something up???
     
  8. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    this would be MY vote!

    i'm getting sick of every freakin update from cpanel I have to go in and reinstall manually again and again and again.....

    I have the same error and as for seeking professional help, the coders of CPanel should seek professional help because
    it only fuxk'd up AFTER their UPDATE! (think I'm a bit upset!)
     
    #8 hamper, Jun 15, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2006
  9. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok how long is this going to take to get this fixed? I have close to 300 sites down and I have a pre-surgery appt in about a hour! thats going to take a couple more hours. this really is *cough*buuullll*cough*

    it's the updates thats messed up.. I'm getting the exact same errors as the OP. I removed line 2, then line 225, then 226, then 227 and so on and so on..
     
  10. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    My problems turned out to be failed dependancies in rpm's, had me and so called "professionals" stumped for almost 3 days. After rebuilding from source and working, I made the stupid mistake of trying WHM again... a couple days later M Photakis at Cpanel found the problem and claims to have fixed it good. Build logs showed no signs of problems so far as I could see, but besides the linking, my conf files were trashed. All better now though and load has improved also, Good luck. Next time I try WHM or easyapache, I will set aside disaster time and a fresh pot of coffee.
     
  11. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well this isn't going to help me. I don't feel I should have to pay someone to fix the coders at CPanels errors.
     
  12. concreteman

    concreteman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sillycone valley
    Put in a ticket at cpanel and they will fix it, if you mention failed rpm's perhaps they can do it quickly, or you can study up on rpm and reinstall the ones you need. Good luck with your problems.
     
Loading...

Share This Page