Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Apache Fails on re-start after installing ioncube

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by rwoody, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. rwoody

    rwoody Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.4-R26138

    Here are the steps I took to install ioncube -

    I ftp'd the ioncube directory to: usr/local/

    I ran the ioncube-loader-helper.php and then the assistant link and received the following info -

    Analysis
    Analysis of your system configuration shows:

    PHP Version 4.4.7
    Operating System Linux
    Threaded PHP No
    php.ini file /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Required Loader ioncube_loader_lin_4.4.so

    I then edited my php.ini file adding the following line -

    zend_extension = "/usr/local/ioncube/ioncube_loader_lin_4.4.so"

    The entire Zend List is as follows:

    [Zend]
    zend_extension_manager.optimizer = "/usr/local/Zend/lib/Optimizer-3.3.0"
    zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts = "/usr/local/Zend/lib/Optimizer_TS-3.3.0"
    zend_optimizer.version = "3.3.0"

    zend_extension = "/usr/local/ioncube/ioncube_loader_lin_4.4.so"
    zend_extension = "/usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager.so"
    zend_extension_ts = "/usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager_TS.so"


    After saving this file, I went into my WHM and did a restart on Apache and it failed. I re-attempted restart with the same result.

    I went back to my php.ini file and removed the ioncube path and was then able to do a successful restart and get my server back online.

    Has anyone had similar issues?
    Is there a part of the install process that I over-looked or did incorrectly?

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.
     
  2. johnchan

    johnchan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I think Apacheupdate already included Ioncube as an option, why are you installing it manually instead of using Apacheupdate?
     
  3. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You can check /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log for what exactly is causing the error.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Remove the directive you added above from /usr/local/lib/php.ini file, then /scripts/restartsrv httpd
    Then re-compile Apache/Php with ionCube using easyapache either from the WHM or the command line.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No need to recompile. Use /scripts/phpextensionmgr to add support for these binary extensions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice