The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

apache fails randomly over time

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by totalufo, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache is failing at randomly over time and it did not seem to start doing it until after I changed the hostname.

    here's what the messages say.

    Apr 4 00:11:13 jedi named[10763]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Apr 4 00:11:13 jedi named[10763]: the default for the 'auth-nxdomain' option is now 'no'
    Apr 4 00:11:13 jedi named[10763]: no IPv6 interfaces found
     
  2. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's still crahsing. The only thing I'm getting in the messages when this happens is:

    Apr 7 17:58:22 jedi proftpd[30594]: PAM-listfile: Couldn't open /etc/ftpusers

    Any ideas?
     
  3. shazad

    shazad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am also getting this ....


    May 29 01:01:26 sfx3 proftpd[6296]: ******* (61.195.16.199[61.195.16.199]) - FTP session opened.

    May 29 01:01:26 sfx3 proftpd[6296]: PAM-listfile: Couldn't open /etc/ftpusers


    Please advice ASAP ....
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    totalufo- is your hostname resolvable to your machine? if apache can't resolve your base hostname it can cause major problems with it launching into memory successfully.

    that proftpd thing is basically proftpd looking at a default file that is hardcoded into the daemon and not finding it because Nick put everything for it in completely different places on a cpanel box.
     
  5. shazad

    shazad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    so does that mean, its nothing to worry about?
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the /etc/ftpusers thing?
    Yes, *nothing to worry about*

    ;)
     
  7. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    resolve

    [quote:3ce55802ac][i:3ce55802ac]Originally posted by feanor[/i:3ce55802ac]


    totalufo- is your hostname resolvable to your machine? if apache can't resolve your base hostname it can cause major problems with it launching into memory successfully.

    that proftpd thing is basically proftpd looking at a default file that is hardcoded into the daemon and not finding it because Nick put everything for it in completely different places on a cpanel box.

    [/quote:3ce55802ac]

    if you want to test what feanor said use this command after connecting to your machine via SSH:

    dig machine-domain.com

    You should see your DNS setting as the result.

    If your both Apache & Proftpd fail check the validity of /etc/hosts & /etc/resolv.conf also your DNS settings

    /etc/hosts :

    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # That requires network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    Server-IP domain.com Short-Host-Name

    /etc/resolv.conf :

    domain domain.com
    search domain.com
    nameserver IP-of-ns1.domain.com
    nameserver IP-of-ns2.domain.com
    # you can have additional nameservers here

    If you changed the hostname also check your hostname in:
    /etc/proftpd.conf
    /etc/httpd.conf

    Also you should have an &A record& in your DNS database for your hostname
     
Loading...

Share This Page