The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache FCGID MPM_Worker on 512MB + 16CPU VPS

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by LeGastronome, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I run one eshopping website + WordPress Blog on a VPS.

    I just notice that on this server (16CPU), MPM_Worker is faster than Prefork.

    But for RAM usage, I have a lot of /usr/bin/php running each 5MB of ram everytimes !

    Memory Used 64.8 %
    Server Load 0.23 (16 cpus)

    My current config is :

    Apache :

    Code:
    TraceEnable Off
    ServerSignature Off
    ServerTokens ProductOnly
    FileETag None
    StartServers 2
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    MinSpareServers 3 
    MaxSpareServers 8
    </IfModule>
    MaxClients 15
    MaxRequestsPerChild 500
    ThreadsPerChild 3
    FCGID :

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_fcgid.so>
            # Maximum number of PHP processes
            MaxProcessCount             4
            # Number of seconds of idle time before a php-cgi process is terminated
            IPCCommTimeout              200
            IdleTimeout                 60
    	 IdleScanInterval		 60
    </IfModule>
    mod_fcgid status:

    Code:
    Total FastCGI processes: 7
    Process name: php5
    
    Pid	Active	Idle	Accesses	State
    32639	443	6	30	Ready
    18131	694	122	95	Ready
    32472	444	135	21	Ready
    Process name: php5
    
    Pid	Active	Idle	Accesses	State
    15955	203	123	10	Ready
    23663	610	122	20	Ready
    15969	201	201	1	Ready
    15960	203	188	4	Ready

    How could I reduce PHP idle ? and PHP footprint ?

    Thanks !
     
    #1 LeGastronome, Nov 21, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  2. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How could I know the module version ?

    For EasyApache, I just need to change the mod_fcgi.so ?

    Thanks
     
  4. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1) you may access a non-existing URL om your server and read module version from error page footer
    2) you may configure /server-status (mod_status), access it and read module versions
    3) you may check in /home/cpeasyapache/src
    Yes compiling and replacing mod_fgcid.so should work
     
  5. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks :

    I have this : mod_fcgid/2.3.5

    Could I install it just in changing .so ?
     
  6. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    download 2.3.6, read installation instructions, install
    remove superfluous LoadModule modules/mod_fcgid.so from httpd.conf as you already have it in /etc/httpd/conf/php.conf
    restart apache
     
Loading...

Share This Page