Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Apache FCGID MPM_Worker on 512MB + 16CPU VPS

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by LeGastronome, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hello,

    I run one eshopping website + WordPress Blog on a VPS.

    I just notice that on this server (16CPU), MPM_Worker is faster than Prefork.

    But for RAM usage, I have a lot of /usr/bin/php running each 5MB of ram everytimes !

    Memory Used 64.8 %
    Server Load 0.23 (16 cpus)

    My current config is :

    Apache :

    Code:
    TraceEnable Off
    ServerSignature Off
    ServerTokens ProductOnly
    FileETag None
    StartServers 2
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    MinSpareServers 3 
    MaxSpareServers 8
    </IfModule>
    MaxClients 15
    MaxRequestsPerChild 500
    ThreadsPerChild 3
    FCGID :

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_fcgid.so>
            # Maximum number of PHP processes
            MaxProcessCount             4
            # Number of seconds of idle time before a php-cgi process is terminated
            IPCCommTimeout              200
            IdleTimeout                 60
    	 IdleScanInterval		 60
    </IfModule>
    mod_fcgid status:

    Code:
    Total FastCGI processes: 7
    Process name: php5
    
    Pid	Active	Idle	Accesses	State
    32639	443	6	30	Ready
    18131	694	122	95	Ready
    32472	444	135	21	Ready
    Process name: php5
    
    Pid	Active	Idle	Accesses	State
    15955	203	123	10	Ready
    23663	610	122	20	Ready
    15969	201	201	1	Ready
    15960	203	188	4	Ready

    How could I reduce PHP idle ? and PHP footprint ?

    Thanks !
     
    #1 LeGastronome, Nov 21, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  2. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  3. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    How could I know the module version ?

    For EasyApache, I just need to change the mod_fcgi.so ?

    Thanks
     
  4. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    1) you may access a non-existing URL om your server and read module version from error page footer
    2) you may configure /server-status (mod_status), access it and read module versions
    3) you may check in /home/cpeasyapache/src
    Yes compiling and replacing mod_fgcid.so should work
     
  5. LeGastronome

    LeGastronome Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Thanks :

    I have this : mod_fcgid/2.3.5

    Could I install it just in changing .so ?
     
  6. amber7

    amber7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    download 2.3.6, read installation instructions, install
    remove superfluous LoadModule modules/mod_fcgid.so from httpd.conf as you already have it in /etc/httpd/conf/php.conf
    restart apache
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice