Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Apache Global Config Directory / Indexing disable not working

Discussion in 'Security' started by team_dale, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. team_dale

    team_dale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Guys

    I've searched forever on this and cant find an answer.

    Under Apache Config >> Global Configuration

    Directory "/" Options i have indexes unchecked.

    However i can still see indexing from a web page when no index.* file is available.

    There is no .htaccess file in the folder in question.

    Question is:
    1) Is there somewhere else i need to be disabling this?
    2) How would i disallow .htaccess overwrite of that rule?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please try to rebuild httpd configuration file on your server with the following command.

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf 
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. team_dale

    team_dale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No Joy - same issue... thought that would have done it too.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please post the output from:

    Code:
    grep Indexes /var/cpanel/conf/apache/local
    Also, have you tried clearing your browser cache to ensure you are not viewing a cached page?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. team_dale

    team_dale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got

    Code:
    # grep Indexes /var/cpanel/conf/apache/local
            "Indexes": 0
    oh and yeah its not a cached page - i can create a new subdomain and it happens.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice