The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache has reached the MaxClients, what this ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by silvernetuk, Feb 15, 2003.

  1. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Just got this email from the server, what does it mean by MaxClients ?

    Apache has reached the MaxClients
    limit. cPanel has increased the MaxClients limit to 160 (10 higher).

    You may wish to suspend the user with the largest access log as they
    are generally the person using up all of the avalible connections. However, your should
    have your system admin verify this first.

    Top 3 Largest access logs
    ====================================
    9356 /usr/local/apache/domlogs/forum.*********.co.uk
    5180 /usr/local/apache/domlogs/*****co.uk
    4044 /usr/local/apache/domlogs/************.com

    Regards,
    Garry
     
  2. xnull

    xnull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It means the maximum # of http connections at one time was reached. This number is set in httpd.conf - yours was apparently very low if Cpanel upped it automatically to 160. Ours is at 300 and we reached max one day earlier this week. Cpanel couldn't automatically increase the alloted max connections because it doesn't like to set it higher than 250 (for server stability). Anyone above that is locked out from accessing the server (the website they are trying to get).
     
  3. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just set up a totally new server, and it only has one new account which hasn't even propagated yet. How can this happen on a new server? That's weird.

    [EDIT]Well, I learned how to nullroute IPs[/EDIT]

    John
     
    #3 pingo, Mar 8, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2003
  4. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Check your log files bet you will find the answer there in the apache error logs.

    Most likely you are getting hit with a bunch of code red probes.

    If I am not mistaken the limit is 250 you can set it higher than that but Apache will not process more than 250 so it will do you no good.
     
Loading...

Share This Page