The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache in chroot envirment on WHM

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by bjarne, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi!

    There is a script: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/chroothttpd that will enable a chroot envirment on any WHM server. I have not seen any info from anyone anywhere how this work, so I am asking: Anyone use this and does it work and what will the problems relatet to it be?

    Does anyone have experince with it?

    I think this is realy required at this time and want to start using it - but experience tells me I shuld not before checking:)
     
  2. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I never even knew that existed... i am interested as well.
     
  3. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/perl  # cpanel6 - scripts 
    Copyright(c) 1997-2003 DarkORB Communications Inc.  
    doesn't look like a new feature ;)
     
  4. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well it works

    It tested - if this has been around fo years then arghhhhhhhhhhh!

    Looks like it works with no problems and prevents users from using some php shell script to mess areound to much, much like jailshell. Can you belive it? You can jailshell php!

    WARNING: We did not put it into production as of yet - but convert seems to work so why not:)
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I can't believe that this would actually chroot apache. People have been asking for it as long as I've been around and nothing has been mentioned. Perhaps it is still in development...
     
  6. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Would be nice to get a reply from cpanel, with more detials :)
     
  7. budway

    budway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    I know this for quite some time now, The last time I ran this on a production machine I had php problems and apache not starting up, don't know how is working now.

    I think causes problems when cpanel was running the test's and that mayble one reason why this did not came out.

    Only cpanel can give a say on the right direction on this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page