The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache issue...

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Tom Pyles, Jan 3, 2003.

  1. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just started getting the e-mails that apache is failing on one server. I tried restarting in WHM and I'm getting the following

    Can't connect at /scripts/restartsrv line 197, line 86046.


    Any ideas on how to get apache back up?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Try restarting apache from SSH:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start

    If apache doesn't start, this will spit out the errors. If you can't figure it out from there, paste the error here for us to see.
     
  3. steven

    steven Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Check your error_logs and also run the apachectl configtest to see if that shows any issues.

    -Steven
     
  4. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the fast responses. I started with the
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start

    and it told me (pid 15298) already running...seems to have come back up. I don't know what that was all about. I'm downloading the logs to look them over.
     
  5. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just went down again and can't restart
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What error did you get when you restarted and it didn't come up?
     
  7. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [Fri Jan 3 23:38:53 2003] [warn] NameVirtualHost 66.246.**.*:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Fri Jan 3 23:38:53 2003] [warn] NameVirtualHost 66.246.**.*:80 has no VirtualHosts
     
  8. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got that error a second time, but this time it did restart..
     
  9. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Try commenting out the entry in httpd.conf then restart apache.
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I get those errors all the time &has no VirtualHosts& and has never been a problem -- since it is only a warning. Could this have something to do with the Apache 10 minute restart bug that Cpanel has?
     
  11. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:278e587d66][i:278e587d66]Originally posted by Website Rob[/i:278e587d66]

    I get those errors all the time &has no VirtualHosts& and has never been a problem -- since it is only a warning. Could this have something to do with the Apache 10 minute restart bug that Cpanel has?[/quote:278e587d66]

    I have never experienced the 10 minute restart, but I regularly clean up my httpd.conf files, so perhaps this is the cause? I don't see how it would cause it to fail however.

    In regards to the thread starters problem. There might be something more, perhaps some part of the httpd.conf file has gone corrupt? Might be wise to go through and do some cleaning up as well.
     
  12. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mean, in: /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log you don't see something like:

    [notice] SIGUSR1 received. Doing graceful restart

    every 10 minutes???

    There are more than a few threads (on this Forum) about this problem. Pray tell how you managed to solve it, as it seems, most of us have no idea what is causing it.
     
  13. michaeln

    michaeln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you compiled php4.2.3 with GD 2.0.2 or greater you will find a few Segmentation faults in apache as well as apache will fail at various times throughout the day. Sometimes it will start right back up and somethimes it will not.

    However I solved this problem by recompiling php 4.2.3 with GD 1.8
    Haven't had any more problems out of Apache since.
     
  14. mesranet

    mesranet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All,

    Lately i found lot of Segmentation fault on my error_log, that was happen after i run the /scripts/easyapache and select GD and downgrade php 4.3 to 4.2, what suppose i do, from the previous post telling about recompile php with GD 1.8, anybody can guide me how to recompile it.

    Please help
     
Loading...

Share This Page