The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache looping, huge processes, no sites being served

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by sexy_guy, Apr 7, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This morning i got up to find in WHM, that one of my servers was showing RED and 4.5 loads which is inconsistent with the way things usually work on this box. We just dont have loads that high for no reason. Upon doing top on this box i found 2 https processes, one looping at cpu loads of 50.3% and one looping at cpu loads of 48.7%

    24672 nobody 25 0 17028 16M 10612 R 50.3 3.3 72:29 httpd
    24086 nobody 25 0 16772 16M 10588 R 48.7 3.2 77:43 httpd

    And no sites were being served!

    I have to shut down httpd and restart it. Why is Apache doing this and when is this going to be fixed? What is causing this and why every morning?

    Do i need to setup a cron that restart Apache every 1hr?
     
    #1 sexy_guy, Apr 7, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2003
  2. meweb

    meweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    You can check if there are any old formmails on your server with version 1.6

    The following command will give you a list of all those files in list.txt

    find /home/*/public_html/cgi-bin -name '*orm*ail.pl' | xargs grep -l "Version 1.6" > list.txt

    Regards,
     
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Formmail? Im not sure what formmail has anything to do with this. Its all Apache httpd and cpanel thats the cause.

    Check this out

    20091 cartridg 25 0 7600 7600 3456 R 78.7 0.7 0:08 cpanel

    Why is cpanel running at 78.7% CPU?

    And all my httpd processes are defunct. Every single one.
     
    #3 sexy_guy, Apr 7, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2003
  4. meweb

    meweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HI there,

    ok if you have cpanel invoved in high load then probably formmail has nothing to do with it. Just scan your httpd.conf once if you can find anything. I have been observing cpanel for quiet a while now and i dont think it takes much load. Surely it is an apache issue.

    Take care,

    Regards,
     
Loading...

Share This Page