The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache Module... Mod_Recapatcha..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Robertosky, Sep 18, 2014.

  1. Robertosky

    Robertosky Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello as my tittle any one know about it..

    i need to install it on my webserver apache.
    because i would like to check . that every request made to my apache will be process by an recapatcha ..


    anyone can say something more about this module for apache.
    Since i'm using 2 server.

    Server 1) reverse proxy which i'm doing some set of rules to protect my real server.
    Server 2) which contain everything.


    so why i'm asking for mod_recpatcha..
    i'm getting attack method layer7 which is very hard to being blocked.
    my reverse proxy which check every new request via recapatcha verification.
    so if this a bot or something its not join to real server.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I'm not familiar with "reCAPTCHA" as an Apache module. Could you provide a documentation link to the specific Apache module you are referring to? For instance, where did you hear about it?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Robertosky

    Robertosky Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Luls
    /http://sourceforge.net/projects/mod-captcha/

    /http://mod-captcha.sourceforge.net/
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for clarifying the correct module name. It's not supported with EasyApache, so you would have to install it as a custom module if you prefer to use it. That being said, I'm not sure it would be that helpful. Have you consulted with your data center to see if the attack can be mitigated from the router level or a hardware firewall?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Robertosky

    Robertosky Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    its layer7 attack. better say they got an list of ip with wordpress site. which going to visit my url.

    Normaly no data center is able to protect site against layer7.
    of course layer 3/4 i'm super protect lol :O is there reverse proxy which is dedicate server with 32GB of ram 1gbps port speed and an amazing hardware firewall i don't know if you have never hear about blacklotus Well my reverse proxy is it. since i'm protecting also some friends website. and now one of it getting layer 7 which passing perfectly my protection. because has everything..


    Like Random useragent. which i can't block or i block alot of users
    Perfect Host. which i can't block or i block alot of users
    and also i can't slow them because they came up like a home connection!
    its an perfect attack.
    very organized.
    i'm getting of over 35k request x second.. and its just a proxy do you mind if an website getting layer7 attack which asking 35k request x second ?


    Only way block it its perfectly is to asking for an CapTcha but directly from my proxy server, which dosen't affect my friend server which has 2GB of ram and less cpu and also its a VPS. which can't handle the traffic.
    we tryed to make a captcha on his php page but server dosen't handle that much request so its goes down automatic.
    only a way i can protect him to implment something on main proxy which redirect request to our servers.


    sorry for my bad english
     
    #5 Robertosky, Sep 18, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page