The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache rebuild problem

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by feroz97, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. feroz97

    feroz97 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello , I tried to rebuild apach I am getting this error


    You can upgrade apache by using this interface. Just select the options you wish to include in the apache build and click the build button. The options checked below reflect the default options, and not the currently active ones. Dynamic modules that were previously compiled into apache will not be removed. If you wish to remove any apache module you should remove it from httpd.conf and restart apache. If you wish to compile apache with the default options just click the build button without making any changes. Do not check every box as some options are not compatible or require third party software to be installed. If you do not know what to check leave the defaults as they are or you will probably end up with a broken apache configuration that will not start up.

    If you have installed third party modules that are not listed below, you will probably need to recompile them after apache is rebuilt. You may experience an unusable apache that produces segmentation faults until the old modules are recompiled or removed.

    [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]There was an error while fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache15.rc
     
  2. feroz97

    feroz97 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was wondering could this be an error in the firewall ??
     
  3. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    Do you try to rebuild apache via WHM using the option "Apache Update" ? If so, then I think the easiest way to update/recompile apache is to update your cPanel up to the latest version and then run:

    /scripts/easyapache

    from SSH.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log ?
     
  5. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache puts all error messages into this file. However, I don't think you will find what causes the error [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]

    Make sure your firewall allows outgoing connections to the ports 80,21.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log file has nothing to do with Apache. It contains entries generated by cpsrvd
     
  7. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ohh, sorry for some reason I thought about:
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    So I agree with cpanelkenneth, Sorry for the confusion.
     
  8. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Ya make sure its not a firewall setting and you are using the latest build...

    From,
    Adam
     
  9. feroz97

    feroz97 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks guys , looks like it was a firewall issue. I had to contact the hosting company to fix things.
     
Loading...

Share This Page