The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache restarts bring down server??

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Incognito969, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I've narrowed this problem now to Apache graceful restarts bringing the server to its needs shooting the load up past 200 sometimes.

    This only happen sometimes as I've tested it, but does anyone know why apache does this? Should I switch all the scripts from a SIGUSR1 to a SIGHUP?
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tested Apache to make sure it is error free?

    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -t
     
  3. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There are warnings about missing doc roots and empty virtualhosts. Would that bog down the server on a SIGUSR1?
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Empty virtualhosts should not be a problem, although easy to fix, but don't understand the reference to 'doc root'? Sounds like that is an error and should be fixed ASAP.
     
  5. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    They've been there awhile. I'm gonna see if that does anything. Those missing document root's are from addon domains, where the client didn't follow through and create a directory for it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page